Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Resources Pertaining to Christianity
Welcome to the Newburgh Free Library's page for resources pertaining to Christianity. This page is still under construction, and we welcome suggestions for websites that we can include here. Please send links to us at email@example.com, and we'll consider them for inclusion.
This top-level page includes general sites and documents relating to Christianity. Pages specific to certain denominations will be included in the sub-pages accessible through the drop down menu.
Reference Books About Christianity at the Newburgh Library
Books about Christianity can be found by searching our Catalog, but we decided to highlight some useful general sources here.
Encyclopedia of Christianity by
Call Number: Adult Nonfiction 230.003 ENC
Publication Date: 2005-07-21
There are numerous reference volumes dealing with Christianity. Remarkably, however, until now there has been no one-volume encyclopedia dedicated Christianity on a global scale. This exhaustive work presupposes no prior knowledge of Christianity, and can usefully be consulted by Jews and Muslims, people of other faiths or no faith at all. It covers all forms of Christianity throughout history and the world. Over 300 major articles by distinguished international contributors are linked through a novel series of pointers that provide different angles on topics and show the connections between them. The contributors include the leading experts on the topics under consideration, which range from regional surveys to portraits of denominations and sects, explorations of theological and moral questions, relationships with other faiths, and a "Who's Who" of Christianity. In addition to the main articles, helpful "fact boxes" present basic factual material, often in the form of lists, bringing together information that is often surprisingly difficult to find: creeds, councils, popes, miracles and parables of Jesus, religious orders, and much more. This remarkable resource, more than ten years in the making, fills a major gap in the literature on world Christianity.
The Encyclopedia of Christianity by
Call Number: REF 230.003
Publication Date: 1998-11-01
"The Encyclopedia of Christianity is the first of a five-volume English translation of the third revised edition of Evangelisches Kirchenlexikon. Its German articles have been tailored to suit an English readership, and articles of special interest to English readers have been added. The encyclopedia describes Christianity through its 2000-year history within a global context, taking into account other religions and philosophies. A special feature is the statistical information dispersed throughout the articles on the continents and over 170 countries. Social and cultural coverage is given to such issues as racism, genocide, and armaments, while historical content shows the development of biblical and apostolic traditions. This comprehensive work, while scholarly, is intended for a wide audience and will set the standard for reference works on Christianity."--"Outstanding reference sources 2000", American Libraries, May 2000. Comp. by the Reference Sources Committee, RUSA, ALA.
Encyclopedia of American Religious History by
Call Number: REF 200.973 QUE
Publication Date: 2009-01-01
Drawing on current scholarship, Encyclopedia of American Religious History. Third Edition is a timely, three-volume reference guide that reflects the significant issues and the current state of American religious history. In more than 800 thoughtful, informative entries--100 of which have been added or revised for this edition--this comprehensive encyclopedia outlines the numerous philosophers, personalities, social issues, and cultural historees of religious practices throughout American history. Special emphasis is placed on recent developments in religious life in this country and the historical contributions of people long neglected by mainstream religious historians, including African Americans. Native Americans, and women. In addition, an expanded introduction gives students a narrative historical overview of religion in America.
general sites on Christianity
Online sites for the study of Early Christianity
Scholarly Websites about Christianity