Planning for College: Help on the Web
Resources available at the Valley Cottage Library to help teens (and their parents) explore possible career choices, select colleges/universities, and plan the steps needed to achieve admission. It's never too early to begin this journey!
Tutor.com Online Database
Tutor.com, available to Valley Cottage Library cardholders, provides 24/7, expert, 1-to-1 academic and job support for learners from K–12 through college, graduate school, continuing education, and career.
K-12 students can access online tutors (3PM -10PM EST) for interactive (chat or chat plus voice) assistance. Math problems and essays can be submitted for review with 24 hour or 12 hour response respectively.
To access more features of Tutor.com, you have to create an account. Tutor.com has partnered with the Princeton Review to provide SAT and ACT prep. Students can watch videos with helpful techniques and tricks before taking a practice test that will be scored. College search resources are also featured.
Videos on AP Subject Exams topics are available for students to watch.
Tutor.com also provides graduate school practice exams like the GRE, GMAT, LSAT, and MCAT.
Information on Colleges and Universities in New York State and Printable Resources
The Commission on Independent Colleges and Universities (CICU), a statewide association representing the public policy interests of the chief executives of more than 100 independent colleges and universities in New York State, offers printable brochures to assist you in your college planning process. Check out their website for more information or click a link below for some of their key brochures.
- CICU websiteSearch for private and not-for-profit colleges and universities in New York State. Information on planning, paying and picking your college.
College Search
- Princeton ReviewExplore colleges, learn about entrance examines, access online applications, find school rankings, and get advice on funding higher education and careers. Sections of the site are devoted to those pursuing graduate studies and for educators working with college applicants.
- College BoardInfo on College Board Exams (SAT AP), college search, and planning.
- U.S. News College RankingU. S. News & World Report College Rankings and Lists
- Peterson's College CenterOnline, searchable versions of the popular Peterson's educational guides. Active sections are private college-preparatory schools, undergraduate colleges, graduate and professional study and summer programs for kids and teenagers
- National Center for Education Statistics College NavigatorCollege Navigator consists primarily of the latest data from the Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS), the core postsecondary education data collection program for NCES – the National Center for Education Statistics.
- Campus TourCampusTours builds video tours, photorealistic interactive campus maps, mobile walking tours and custom data-driven multimedia applications for higher education, non-profit and government clients worldwide. Tour a campus before a visit.
- US Department of Ed. College ScorecardFind out about colleges graduation rates, salaries after completing, average annual costs, student body, test scores and acceptance rates, and more.
- Check Teacher Ratings ( on RateMyTeachers.com)Teacher Ratings on RateMyTeachers.com
over 15,000,000 ratings. Ratings are user-generated. - Online Colleges and e-learningLearn about online colleges and e-learning from AffordableColegesOnline.org. Is it right for you?
- OnlineUOnlineU publishes rankings for affordable online colleges across hundreds of degree levels and programs and provides prospective students with insightful articles and resources for making their education more affordable.
- ChristianGuideCollege.netChristianCollegeGuide.net is dedicated to helping college-bound students and their families in the search for Christian higher education. We provide tools and resources to find and connect with Christian colleges and universities, plus expert, trustworthy content on the college search and preparation process, all from a Christian point of view.
ChristianCollegeGuide.net is a ministry of Christianity Today, a nonprofit, global media ministry that serves the church through digital and print publications, as well as practical and accessible Web resources that together reach more than 2.5 million people every month. - Peterson's Test and Career Prep (via Gale)Search thousands of college and graduate schools, identify scholarships, take practice tests, create resumes, and explore careers.
For Students with Disabilities
- Think College ! For students with special needsDoors to colleges are opening for people with intellectual and other developmental disabilities in many different ways all over the country. This website is designed to share what is currently going on, provide resources and strategies, let you know about training events, and give you ways to talk to others. The information is for transition aged students as well as adults attending or planning for college. It provides resources and tools for students, families, and professionals.
Financial Planning
- Federal Student AidThe Federal Government site for assistance in college financial planning with information on the FAFSA (Free Application for Federal Student Aid).
- 529 College Savings Plans529 plans are a type of investment account that can be used for higher-education savings. Tax savings make these vehicles powerful. Learn about the NY's 529 College Savings Program.
- FastWeb College Financial PlanningHelp with the scholarship search.
- U.S. News & World Report Guide on Paying For CollegePaying for college can be one of the toughest parts of earning your degree—but it doesn’t have to be. Use our tips, tools, and articles to stay up to date on the best ways to pay for college, including scholarships, savings, grants, loans, and more.
Information on Occupations
- Myfuture.comMyfuture.com helps young adults plan their next steps in life by bringing together the most recently available information about colleges, careers and military service opportunities from the U.S. Departments of Commerce, Defense, Education and Labor.
- Occupational Outlook Handbook
The Occupational Outlook Handbook by the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics is a nationally recognized source of career information, designed to provide valuable assistance to individuals making decisions about their future work lives. Research a specific occupation or profession and find out the training and education required, salary, job prospects, working conditions, and the nature of the work.
- CareerOneStopThis site by the U.S. Department of Labor Employment and Training Administration provides national, state and local career information and labor market data. Includes career tools, career reports, videos, a career resource library, and more.