Local History/Newburgh Free Library: Online Databases and Genealogy Resources

Welcome to New York Heritage:
Unveiling the Tapestry of New York State's History

Explore the vibrant tapestry of New York State's past with New York Heritage, a comprehensive portal that invites you to delve into the intricate stories of its people, places, and events. This digital platform serves as a dynamic repository, providing an immersive learning experience for history enthusiasts, researchers, and curious minds alike. Visit the Newburgh Free Library's collections within NY Heritage here.

Discover the Past and Present: URBAN ARCHIVE NEWBURGH

Embark on a digital journey through time and space with URBAN ARCHIVE NEWBURGH. Whether you're a local resident or a virtual explorer, this platform invites you to discover, appreciate, and contribute to the collective narrative of Newburgh's unique history. Visit the website or download the app to explore our city and all of the rich history we have surrounding us.

The Newburgh Free Library has actively participated in the Hudson River Valley Heritage (HRVH) project since 2007, contributing to a digitization initiative that grants universal access to historically significant collections in the Hudson Valley. The library's involvement includes the digitization of noteworthy collections featuring historic photographs and maps from the Newburgh area.

These collections encompass a variety of materials, such as photographs capturing the essence of Newburgh during the Hudson Fulton Celebration in 1909, other snapshots depicting early Newburgh, and a compilation of topographic maps dating back to the 1850s.

Recent upgrades to the digitization program's platform have led to the migration of numerous historical pictures to a new site named New York Heritage. To explore these collections, visit https://nyheritage.org/. Going forward, all upcoming photograph collections will be exclusively added to the New York Heritage site.

For those interested in accessing digitized newspaper collections, they will continue to be available at http://www.hrvh.org/. Simply click on the Newburgh Free Library collection button to explore this valuable resource.

Should you have any inquiries or wish to obtain more information, please feel free to contact the Local History Librarian at 845-563-3617. To schedule an appointment, kindly reach out to the provided contact number.

 https://www.ancestrylibrary.com/ 
Unlock an extensive array of resources for genealogical and historical research, generously funded by the Newburgh Free Library. Delve into a wealth of materials, including images of the decennial U.S. census spanning from 1790 to 1930, passenger lists, military records, court documents, land and probate records, as well as birth, marriage, and death records, church records, and much more! Experience the richness of our historical archives, with new content seamlessly added every day. Please note that this valuable resource is exclusively available for use within the library premises. 

 https://www.familysearch.org/en/united-states/ 
Explore our extensive records, encompassing billions of names distributed across diverse collections. Uncover valuable information spanning birth, marriage, death, probate, land, military, IGI-extracted records, and more.