Graphics for Grownups: Anthologies

African-American Classics presents great stories and poems from America''s earliest Black writers, illustrated by contemporary African-American artists. Featured are "Two Americans" by Florence Lewis Bentley, "The Goophered Grapevine" by Charles W. Chesnutt, "Becky" by Jean Toomer, two short plays by Zora Neale Hurston, and six more tales of humor and tragedy. Also featured are eleven poems, including Langston Hughes'' "Danse Africaine" and "The Negro", plus Paul Laurence Dunbar''s "Sympathy" (''I know why the caged bird sings... '')

Brian Walker's two comprehensive guides to American comics, The Comics Before 1945 and The Comics Since 1945, are combined here in one beautifully designed omnibus edition, The Comics: The Complete Collection. Cartoon authority Brian Walker has amassed over a century of strips--more than 1,300 images--including rare examples provided by the artists themselves. Featured cartoonists include George Herriman (Krazy Kat), Walt Kelly (Pogo), Charles Schulz (Peanuts), Bill Watterson (Calvin and Hobbes), Scott Adams (Dilbert), Patrick McDonnell (Mutts), and many more. Organized by decade, with biographical profiles and analysis of the different genres, The Comics is a graphically stunning, and terrifically priced survey of American newspaper comics.

In a first-of-its-kind collection, award-winning illustrators celebrate the lives of the visionary artists who created the world of comic art and altered pop culture forever.

Inspired by the global #MeToo Movement, Drawing Power: Women's Stories of Sexual Violence, Harassment, and Survival is a collection of original, nonfiction comics drawn by more than 60 female cartoonists from around the world. Featuring such noted creators as Emil Ferris, Aline Kominsky-Crumb, MariNaomi,Liana Finck, andEbony Flowersthe anthology's contributors comprise a diverse group of many ages, sexual orientations, and races-and their personal stories convey the wide spectrum of sexual harassment and abuse that is still all too commonplace. With a percentage of profits going to RAINN, Drawing Power is an anthology that stokes the fires of progressive social upheaval, in the fight for a better, safer world.

"Best American Comics" showcases the work of both established and up-and-coming contributers. Editor Charles Burns--cartoonist, illustrator, and official cover artist of the "Believer--"has culled the best stories from graphic novels, pamphlet comics, newspapers, magazines, mini-comics, and the web to create this cutting-edge collection. Featuring the work of such luminaries as Chris Ware, KAZ, and Robert Crumb, this volume is "a genuine salute to comics" ("Houston Chronicle)."

Featuring: Gabrielle Bell, Joe Sacco, Dash Shaw, Sabrina Jones, Chris Ware, Jillian Tamaki, Jaime Hernandez, Jeff Smith, Paul Pope, Kevin Huizenga, and others

The Best American Comics showcases the work of both established and up-and-coming contributors. Editor Jeff Smith—creater of the classic comic Bone, a comedy/adventure about three lost cousins from Boneville—has culled the best stories from graphic novels, pamphlet comics, newspapers, magazines, mini-comics, and web comics to create this cutting-edge collection.

"It's the perfect book to pick up to restore your faith in comics or help show infinite diversity in infinite combinations on display on paper using the world's greatest artform." --Comics Bulletin The Best American Comics showcases the work of both established and up-and-coming contributors and highlights both fiction and nonfiction -- from graphic novels, pamphlet comics, newspapers, magazines, minicomics, and the Web -- to make a unique, stunning collection. Frank Miller (Sin City, 300) called guest editor Scott McCloud "just about the smartest guy in comics."

"As I know well from my own field, true vitality consists of stuff that's further off the radar of general acclaim. The influx of raw arrivals. The deep cuts." --Jonathan Lethem, from the Introduction Featuring Gabrielle Bell, Mat Brinkman, Roz Chast, Anya Davidson, Eleanor Davis, Jules Feiffer, Blaise Larmee, Raymond Pettibon, Ed Piskor, Joe Sacco, Esther Pearl Watson, and others. JONATHAN LETHEM is the author of nine novels, including Motherless Brooklyn, The Fortress of Solitude, Gun, with Occasional Music, and most recently Dissident Gardens.

"There's something thrilling about seeing people invent new ways to tell their story. To me, it's proof that the art form of comics is healthy: it lives and grows and reinvents itself. It's alive!" -Roz Chast, from the Introduction   FEATURING Lynda Barry, Kate Beaton, Cece Bell, Geneviève Elverum, Ben Katchor, John Porcellino, Joe Sacco, Adrian Tomine, Chris Ware, Julia Wertz, and others.

"I love comics. Comics is (Comics ARE?) a perfect language, robustly evolving and expanding like any other living language," writes Phoebe Gloeckner in her Introduction to The Best American Comics 2018. This year's collection includes work selected from the pages of graphic novels, comic books, periodicals, zines, online, and more, highlighting the kaleidoscopic diversity of the comics language today.   Featuring GABRIELLE BELL * TARA BOOTH * GEOF DARROW * GUY DELISLE * EMIL FERRIS * JULIA GFRÖRER * SARAH GLIDDEN * SIMON HANSELMANN * JAIME HERNANDEZ * JULIA JACQUETTE * GARY PANTER * ARIEL SCHRAG, and others

Jillian Tamaki, co-author of This One Summer, picks the best graphic pieces of the year. The Best American Comics 2019 showcases the work of established and up-and-coming artists, collecting work found in the pages of graphic novels, comic books, periodicals, zines, online, in galleries, and more, highlighting the kaleidoscopic diversity of the comics form today.

This gorgeous, one-of-a-kind trilogy brings more than 130 classic books together with legendary graphic artists and illustrators, such as a rarely seen R. Crumb rendering of James Boswell's "London Journal "to a manga "Macbeth."

This is a gorgeous, one-of-a-kind trilogy that brings classic literatures of the world together with legendary graphic artists and illustrators. It showcases illustrustrated interpretations of classic literature from the 1800s. Edgar Allen Poe's visions are presented by several artists, including Maxon Crumb and Gris Grimly. Shelly, Keats and Byron are all visualised here, as are the Bront‰ sisters. Coleridge's great poems are represented, with The Rime of the Ancient Mariner interpreted by British comics legend Hunt Emerson, among many more.

Volume 3 showcases literature of the end of the 20th century and the start of the 21st, including a Sherlock Holmes mystery, an illustrated guide to the Beat writers and a disturbing meditation on Naked Lunch.