Library Home page | Library Catalog
Skip to main content

Recommended Reads: Award Winners

Book lists on frequently searched topics

Caldecott Medal

Named in honor of nineteenth-century English illustrator Randolph Caldecott. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children.  The winners for 2017 are:


Radiant Child: The Story of Young Artist Jean-Michel Basquiat written and illustrated by Javaka Steptoe (winner)

Leave Me Alone! written and illustrated by Vera Brosgol

Freedom in Congo Square written by Carole Boston Weatherford, illustrated by R. Gregory Christie 

Du Iz Tak? written and illustrated by Carson Ellis

They All Saw a Cat written and illustrated by Brendan Wenzel


For a list of previous years' winners and honorees, click here.  

Newbery Medal

Named for eighteenth-century English bookseller John Newbery, the Newbery Medal is awarded annually by the American Library Association for the most distinguished American children's book published the previous year.   The winners for 2017 are:


The Girl Who Drank the Moon by Kelly Barnhill (winner)

Wolf Hollow by Lauren Wolk (honor)

The Inquisitor's Tale: Or, Three Magical Children and Their Dog by Adam Gidwitz (honor)

Freedom Over Me: Eleven Slaves, Their Lives and Dreams Brought to Life by Ashley Bryan (honor)


For previous years' winners and honorees, click here.  

Geisel Medal

Named for Theodore Seuss Geisel, the Geisel Award is given annually to the author(s) and illustrator(s) of the most distinguished American book for beginning readers published in English in the United States during the preceding year.  The winners for 2017 are:


We Are Growing: A Mo Willems' Elephant and Piggie Like Reading! Book written and illustrated by Laurie Keller (winner)

Good Night Owl written and illustrated by Greg Pizzoli

Oops, Pounce, Quick, Run! An Aphabet Caper written and illustrated by Mike Twohy

Go, Otto, Go! written and illustrated by Mike Milgrim

The Infamous Ratsos written by Kara LaReau, illustrated by Matt Myers


For a list of previous years' winners, click here.