Resources for Writers: Writers' Research Guides
HOWDUNIT SERIES
Amateur Detectives by
Offers detective and mystery writers factual foundations for their characters' amateur sleuthing.
ISBN: 089879725XPublication Date: 1996-09-15
Body Trauma by
From murder/mystery to medical fiction - from trauma to mass casualties, Dr. David Page is a writer's best friend.
ISBN: 0898797411Publication Date: 1996-09-15
Cause of Death by
Offers detailed descriptions of what happens to a body from trauma to burial, how autopsies are conducted, the paperwork involved in a death, and the laws that govern how bodies must be handled and buried.
ISBN: 0898795249Publication Date: 1992-09-15
Deadly Doses by
Describes the symptoms, forms, methods of administration, and reactions of various poisons, and briefly traces the history of poisioning.
Call Number: 808.3872 STEISBN: 0898793718Publication Date: 1990-07-15
Howdunit Forensics by
Just because you don't have all the tools and training of a full-time medical examiner doesn't mean you can't learn your way around a crime scene. In Forensics, award-winning author and TV show consultant D.P. Lyle, M.D., takes each area of forensics--from fingerprint analysis to crime scene reconstruction--and discusses its development, how the science works, how it helps in crime solving, and how you as a writer might use this technique in crafting your plot. This comprehensive reference guide includes: * Real-life case files and the role forensic evidence played in solving the crimes * A breakdown of the forensics system from its history and organization to standard evidence classification and collection methods * Detailed information on what a dead body can reveal--including the cause, mechanism, and manner of death * The actual steps taken to preserve a crime scene and the evidence that can be gathered there, such as bloodstains, documents, fingerprints, tire impressions, and more Forensics is the ultimate resource for learning how to accurately imbue your stories with authentic details of untimely demises.
Call Number: 808.3872 LYLISBN: 9781582974743Publication Date: 2008-04-04
Howdunit Guide to How Crimes Are Committed and Solved by
This is the ultimate reference on the dark worlds of criminals and those who oppose them. Readers will learn how crimes are plotted, committed, investigated and solved.
ISBN: 1582970157Publication Date: 2000-11-25
Malicious Intent by
Never before has such specialized information been so thoroughly compiled and easily accessible to writers! Each book is written by a professional in their respective field, providing the inside details that writers need to weave a credible -- and salable -- story.
ISBN: 0898796482Publication Date: 1995-03-15
Modus Operandi by
Never before has such specialized information been so thoroughly compiled and easily accessible to writers! Each book in this series is written by an expert in the field, providing the inside details that writers need to weave a credible -- and salable -- story. "... essential buys for any serious author...Will cut research time in half! -- Mystery Scene Magazine
ISBN: 0898796490Publication Date: 1995-03-15
Police Procedural by
"This book takes you inside not only police investigations, but also the day-to-day world of police work. You'll learn how police officers work, when they work, what they wear, who they report to, and generally how they go about the business of controlling and investigating crime." "You'll find valuable information on how police officers are trained, and how they move through the ranks; the equipment they use, including firearms and investigative equipment; laws that govern and restrict police investigations, including "probable cause"; who has jurisdiction over what (state police? county sheriff? city police department?), and who does what - and when; developing suspect lists and descriptions; how evidence is handled, including the evidence room; how police officers prepare for court and the grand jury; investigative techniques for burglary and arson as well as homicide; how suspects are interrogated and handled; the police "mindset," and how police officers approach their jobs and the challenges they face; the specifics of internal investigations; records and reports, and how they are maintained." "Today's readers are more savvy than ever when it comes to crime and murder mysteries. With this comprehensive guide, your readers will be wondering "whodunit" - not questioning why your facts don't mesh."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved
ISBN: 0898795966Publication Date: 1993-09-15
Private Eyes by
Part of the Howdunit series, Private Eyes is written by a professional in the field. It provides the inside details that writers need to weave a credible-and salable-story. essential buy for any serious author...Will cut research time in half!
ISBN: 0898795494Publication Date: 1993-09-15
Scene of the Crime by
Provides information on how evidence is measured, collected, identified, and analyzed, the timetable of activity at a crime scene, and technical terms and professional techniques used.
ISBN: 0898795184Publication Date: 1992-09-15
HISTORY WRITER'S GUIDES
The Writer's Guide to Everyday Life in the Middle Ages by
In this book Kenyon gives an overview of life in Northwestern Europe from 500 to 1500. She describes the wars, heraldry, royalty, medicine, clothing and food of the period.
Call Number: 909.07 KENISBN: 0898796636Publication Date: 1995-03-15
Renaissance England by
Writers will save hours of valuable research time and bring a richness and historical accuracy to their work as they reference the slice-of-life facts depicted for each of these major time periods. Each book contains descriptions of the period's food and clothes; customs and slang; occupations; common religious and political practices; and other historical details.
Call Number: 942.05 EMEISBN: 0898797527Publication Date: 1996-09-15
Everyday Life in Regency and Victorian England by
A study of everyday life in Regency and Victorian England derived from anecdotes, written histories and first hand accounts. The author covers subjects from contemporary recipes, to courtship rituals, and popular slang, to common occupations.
Call Number: 942.07 HUGISBN: 0898798124Publication Date: 1998-02-15
Everyday Life in Colonial America by
Writers will save hours of valuable research time and bring a richness and historical accuracy to their work as they reference the slice-of-life facts depicted for each of these major time periods. Each book contains descriptions of the period's food and clothes; customs and slang; occupations, common religious and political practices; and other historical details.
Call Number: 973.2 TAYISBN: 9780898797725Publication Date: 1997-03-15
Everyday Life in the 1800s by
A superb reference for writers, researchers, students and teachers, this dictionary-style book illuminates everyday life in the 1800s, decade by decade. Readers will find hundreds of otherwise obscure facts about:
* Popular slang--from the range to the underworld
* How to furnish a farmhouse or outfit a barn
* How much it cost for a shot of whiskey or to mail a letter
* Styles of the fashionable--and not so fashionable
* Courtship and marriage rituals
* Popular food and drink--including brand names
* And much, much more!
Call Number: 973.5 MCCISBN: 1582970637Publication Date: 2001-03-01
Everyday Life from Prohibition to World War II by
Writers will save hours of valuable research time and bring a richness and historical accuracy to their work as they reference the slice-of-life facts depicted for each of these major time periods. Each book contains descriptions of the period's food and clothes; customs and slang; occupations, common religious and political practices; and other historical details.
Call Number: 973.92 MCCISBN: 0898796970Publication Date: 1995-09-15
Everyday Life in the Wild West, 1840-1900 by
Part of the Everyday Life Series, this book will save writers hours of valuable research time and bring a richness and historical accuracy to their work as they reference the slice-of-life facts depicted in the time period. It contains descriptions on the period's food and clothes; customs and sland, occupations; common religious and political practices; and other historical details.
Call Number: 978 MOUISBN: 0898798701Publication Date: 1999-03-15
Everyday Life in Early America by
"In this clearly written volume, Hawke provides enlightening and colorful descriptions of early Colonial Americans and debunks many widely held assumptions about 17th century settlers."--Publishers Weekly
Call Number: 973.2 HAWISBN: 0060912510Publication Date: 1989-01-25
Everyday Life Through the Ages by
A fast-paced, lavishly illustrated social history of the world -- explore the day-to-day life of ordinary people from the Stone Age to the turn of the 20th century. It includes the exciting, funny, interesting stories that give an accurate picture of how people lived.
Call Number: 909 EVEISBN: 0276420357Publication Date: 1995-12-01
