Library Home page | Library Catalog

New York State: Websites by Topic (G - I)

Websites, services, government agencies, and more in NYS.

Websites

Government Information in New York State

By County

New York State Counties: Direct links to county government web sites
New York State Association of Counties: "The only statewide municipal association representing the interests of close to 5,000 county officials, including legislators, supervisors, county executives, administrators, commissioners and other county employees. Every county in the state is a member of NYSAC."

Local Government

County Government Web Sites: From NY.gov.
Local Government Sites: Government resources local to the Middletown, Walkill, and neighboring areas.
Local Representatives: Representatives local to the Middletown, NY and neighboring areas.

New York City

New York City Green Book Online: "For nearly a century, the Green Book has kept New Yorkers informed about the agencies, offices, boards, and commissions that keep our dynamic City running." PLEASE NOTE: "New York City Green Book Online is currently under reconstruction." Until it returns, please see this link: New York City Agency & Office Officials.
Mayoral and City Agencies: Alphabetical list of NYC government agencies
NYC.gov: New York City government information center
New York City Council: "The legislative branch of City government."

New York State Government

New York State Government Home Page: Official New York State government website.
New York State Governor's Home Page
New York State Assembly
New York State Senate

Other New York State Government Agencies / Websites


Attorney General's Office of New York State
Department of State
Directory of Representatives: From the U.S. House of Representatives.
New York State Government Telephone Directory: for New York State government agencies
New York State Joint Commission on Public Ethics: "The Joint Commission on Public Ethics ("JCOPE") has replaced the former Commission on Public Integrity pursuant to the Public Integrity Reform Act (L. 2011, ch. 399). We are currently in the process of creating a new website to provide you with additional information."
New York State Office of General Services: "e provide essential services to our state and local partners, as well as the general public. From operating buildings, to construction management, establishing procurement contracts, and conducting tours of the Capitol, OGS is truly a diverse organization."
New York State Office of the Inspector General: "The Inspector General's Office is entrusted with the responsibility of ensuring that State government, its employees and those who work with the state meet the highest standards of honesty, accountability, and efficiency."
Sunlight New York (Project Sunlight): "Welcome to Project Sunlight, an online database established in the Public Integrity Reform Act of 2011 that provides New Yorkers with unprecedented transparency regarding the appearances made by individuals and entities before the New York State government. You may search the database by keyword to see which individuals and entities, and their representatives, are appearing before state entities and employees."

Health

Affordable Care Act / Health Insurance in New York State

New York State of Health (The New York Health Benefit Exchange): "The Official Health Plan Marketplace for New York State." This website offers information for individuals, families, small businesses, and stakeholders.

From NYSoH "An Exchange is an organized marketplace designed to help people shop for and enroll in health insurance coverage. Individuals, families and small businesses will be able to use the Exchange to help them compare commercial insurance options, calculate costs and select coverage online, in person, over the phone or by mail. The Exchange will also help people to check their eligibility for health care programs like Medicaid and sign up for these programs if they are eligible. The Exchange will also be able to tell what type of financial assistance is available to applicants to help them afford health insurance purchased through the Exchange. Insurance coverage can be purchased through the Health Benefit Exchange beginning in October 2013 and will be effective January 1, 2014. Under the federal Affordable Care Act, an Exchange will be operating in every state starting in 2014." From the New York State Department of Health.

Department of Health

Department of Health: The New York State Department of Health website.
Forms: See also their Birth, Death, Marriage, & Divorce Records page for Vital Records.
Rules, Regulations, and Laws: New York State health rules, regulations, and laws.
Statistics: Data and Reports. Topics include: AIDS/HIV, Alzheimer's Disease, Ambulatory Surgery (SPARCS Outpatient) Statistics, Arthritis, Asthma, Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS), Cancer, Cancer Registry, New York State, Cardiovascular Disease (Heart Disease and Stroke), Child Health Plus, Childhood Lead Poisoning Surveillance, Children with Special Health Care Needs, Chronic Disease, Chronic Disease Prevention: Information for Action Reports, Communicable Disease Statistics, Community Health Assessment Clearinghouse, Community Health Indicator Reports (CHIRS), Congenital Malformations Registry, County Health Assessment Indicators (CHAI), County Health Indicators by Race/Ethnicity (CHIRE), County/ZIP Code Perinatal Data Profile, Cystic Fibrosis, Dental Health, Diabetes, Disability, Drowning Statistics for Incidents at New York State Public Bathing Facilities, Early Invervention Program, Electronic Clinical Laboratory Reporting, Environmental Public Health Tracking, Fatality Assessment and Control Evaluation (FACE), Flu (Influenza) Activity, Surveillance and Reports, Foodborne Disease Outbreaks in New York State, Heart Disease, Hepatitis Surveillance and Reporting, HIV/AIDS, Hospital-Acquired Infection (HAI) Rates in New York State Hospitals, Hospital Maternity-Related Procedures and Practices Statistics, Hospital Discharge (SPARCS Inpatient) Statistics, Influenza (Flu) Activity, Surveillance and Reports, Injury Statistics, Lead Poisoning, Leading Causes of Death, Managed Care, Maternal and Child Health (MCH) Dashboard, Maternity-Related Procedures and Practices Statistics, Medicaid, Minority Health, Nutrition, Obesity, Occupational Injuries, Open Data, Opioid-Related Data, Oral Health, Pesticide Reporting, Pregnancy Risk Assessment Monitoring System (PRAMS), Prevention Agenda 2013-2018 Data and Sources, Rabies, Safe Patient Handling, School-Based Health Centers, Screening Amenable Cancers in New York State, Sexually Transmitted Diseases, Statewide Planning & Research Cooperative System (SPARCS - Hospital Discharge Data), Stroke, Statistics Teaching Tools, Suicide and Self-Inflicted Injuries, Tobacco - Reports, Brochures, and Fact Sheets, Tuberculosis, Vision and Eye Health, Vital Statistics, and West Nile Virus.

Other Topics

New York State Attorney General: Health Care Bureau: "The Health Care Bureau safeguards the rights of health care consumers statewide through investigation of and enforcement actions against insurers, providers, drug companies and other individuals and entities that engage in fraudulent, misleading, deceptive, or illegal practices in the health care market." Includes a toll-free Help Line for consumers and tips for healthcare consumers.
Department of Labor: Public Employee Safety & Health
Local Departments of Social Services: By county. From New York State Department of Health.
Medicaid Program Information: From the New York State Department of Health.
NAMI New York State - National Alliance on Mental Illness: "NAMI-NYS is the state organization of the National Alliance on Mental Illness, the nation's largest grassroots organization for people with mental illness and their families." Includes helpline, programs, events, and more.
New York City Department of Health and Mental Hygiene (DOHMH)
New York Professional Misconduct and Physician Discipline: New York Professional Misconduct and Physician Discipline.
New York State Nursing Homes Profiles: "Use this site for information about nursing homes in New York State and the quality of care they provide. The quality measures data are from the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services. These quality measures are among the most reliable, but measuring quality is difficult because of the variation among nursing homes in the complexity of residents they care for. Use this information to ask questions of nursing home representatives and health care professionals, as well as family members and friends who may have direct experience with a particular nursing home." From the NYS Dept. of Health.
New York State Office of Mental Health: "The Office of Mental Health (OMH) operates psychiatric centers across the State, and also regulates, certifies and oversees more than 4,500 programs, which are operated by local governments and nonprofit agencies. These programs include various inpatient and outpatient programs, emergency, community support, residential and family care programs."
New York State Physician Profile: "Profiles for all licensed doctors of medicine and doctors of osteopathy who are registered to practice medicine in New York State."
Office of Alcoholism and Substance Abuse Services
New York State Office for People With Developmental Disabilities: "New York State Office for People With Developmental Disabilities and its associated voluntary agencies offer many services to consumers and their families."
Patients' Rights in New York State: Patients' rights, proxy health care, funeral costs, euthanasia, bioethics, Do-Not-Resuscitate, more.

History

Local History (for Middletown, NY and neighboring areas)

Middletown Thrall Library Local History Department: Collection highlights, digitized local history documents, web guides to other local history and genealogical web sites

State History Resources

New York Heritage: "NewYorkHeritage.org is a research portal for students, educators, historians, genealogists, and others who are interested in the Empire State's history."
New York State Archives: "The New York State Archives was established in 1971 and opened its doors to the public in 1978. It is a program of the State Education Department, with its main facility located in the Cultural Education Center on Madison Avenue in Albany. There it cares for and provides access to more than 200 million documents that tell the story of New York from the seventeenth century to the present. From its main facility, it also administers statewide programs that reach out to state agencies, local governments and community organizations. Archives staff are located in five regional offices around the State to address the archives and records management concerns of every area of the State."
New York State Archives: Using Documents in the Classroom: Sections include: What is an Archive? (in English or in Spanish); Using Primary Documents in the Classroom (in English or in Spanish); Finding Historical Records in a County Clerk's Office; Finding Historical Records in a History Organization; Finding Historical Records in a Town Clerk's Office; and Teaching with: Audio, Broadsides, Census Records, Maps, Objects, Photographs, Political Cartoons, Video, Written Documents.
New York State Museum Online Exhibitions: Topics include: Contemporary Native American Art; The Shakers; Empire State Plaza at 50; The Family Room at One Liberty Plaza - World Trade Center Site; The World Trade Center: Rescue, Recovery, Response; An Irrepressible Conflict: the Empire State in the Civil War; CANstruction, "Can You Imagine"; Seneca Ray Stoddard: Capturing the Adircondacks; War of 1812; The 1911 Capitol Fire; and Berenice Abbott's Changing New York: A Triumph of Public Art.
NYGenWeb: New York Genealogy and History
Historical and Genealogical Resources from our web guide