Investments and Personal Finances: Websites
Resources and News for Consumers & Investors
Websites
General Information
- Clark Howard's Investment Guide
- An easy-to-use guide put together by radio show host Clark Howard about the basic strategies investing with links on the bottom for different levels of experience from "easy" to "advanced."
- Federal Trade Commission: Consumer Information - Investing Online
- This site offers advice about online investing. It provides information on securing personal information online, avoiding online investment scams, and reporting online investment fraud. Also available in Spanish.
- U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC)
- The U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission serves as advisories for investors. Here are direct links to some of the SEC's many publications:
- EDGAR (Electronic Data Gathering Analysis & Retrieval System)
- A service of the U.S Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC). All foreign and domestic companies are required to file registration statements and periodic reports through the Next-Generation EDGAR System. This information is available for free to the public through this database.
- Investor.gov
- Provided by the SEC; an investor-focused website to help invest wisely, avoid fraud and plan for the future.
- Investopedia.com - Your Source For Investing Education
- An online encyclopedia of financial information. Includes articles on all aspects of investing, a financial term dictionary, calculators, and information on licensing tests for financial professionals.
- Markets Data Center
- Provides comprehensive data on global stocks and indexes, bonds, futures, commodities, corporate earnings, currencies and more. Provided by "The Wall Street Journal."
- InvestorGuide.com
- This site includes information on markets, investing and personal finance, news, research, and tools. Searching for companies provides an overview of the company, charts, news, profile, analysis, opinions, and historical data.
News & Journals
- Barron's
- Bloomberg.com: Investing, Business, and Personal Finance - Breaking News
- CNBC
- Business and financial news.
- CNN Business (was CNN Money)
- Economic News: U.S. Economy (Crisis, Recovery) and World Markets and Indicators
- Google Finance
- Includes real time quotes for NASDAQ stocks, company financial information, news, and a stock screener that helps you indentify stocks based on P/E Ratios, dividend yields and fourteen other criteria.
- Marketplace from American Public Media
- The official website of the public radio program about business and the economy.
- MSN Money: Investing News
- New York Times: Markets News
- Includes: Markets Overview, U.S. Markets, World Markets, Mutual Funds, Currencies, Commodities, Bonds, Consumer Rates.
- The U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC): News and Public Statements
- "The latest news from the SEC, including press releases, speeches and testimony by senior SEC officials, and special studies and reports. You can also read a daily summary of significant SEC actions, such as recent enforcement proceedings, rule filings, and policy statements."
Banking
Featured Resource
- Financial Ratings Series Online
- Financial strength ratings of banks and credit unions. A Middletown Thrall Library card required for use outside of the library.
Other Resources
- Bank Find
- "FDIC Bank Find allows you to locate a single FDIC-insured institution by entering one or more of the criteria below. If more than one institution meets the criteria you enter, you will be provided with a list of institutions that met your criteria. Bank Find can answer questions such as: Is My Bank Insured? Where are My Bank's Branches Located? Where is My Bank's Home (Main) Office Located? What is My Bank's Web Site Address? What Happened to My Bank (Historical List of Events)? Does My Bank have a New Name? Is My Bank Still Open? And More." From Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC.gov).
- Bankrate.com
- Bankrate monitors approximately 4,800 financial institutions, providing current rates on mortgages, credit cards, new and used automobile loans, money market accounts, certificates of deposit, checking and ATM fees, home equity loans and online banking fees. Calculator will predict monthly loan payments based on interest rates and terms. Provides numerous blog posts with personal finance advice and commentary. Safe and Sound ratings include ratings, financial statements, and memorandums on findings - comparing the financial health of banks.
- FDIC - Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation
- "An independent agency created by the U.S. Congress to maintain stability and public confidence in the nation's financial system by insuring deposits, examining and supervising financial institutions for safety and soundness and consumber protection, and managing receiverships." The site provides information on laws, regulations, banking and consumer news. They also provide an institutional directory, where you can "find a bank or bank holding company, generate comprehensive financial or demographic reports, and find bank locations or groups of banks."
See also:- BankFind
- "Locate FDIC-insured banking institutions."
- Consumer Assistance and Information
- Consumer advisories and resources to help manage and protect your money. From From the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC). See also FDIC's Safe Internet Banking website.
- Federal Reserve Bank: Consumers and Communities
- Find resources if you are having a problem with a financial institution, or if you want to learn more on other consumer-related topics, such as credit and debit cards, credit reports, and deposit accounts. From FederalReserve.gov.
- National Credit Union Administration
- The NCUA is the federal agency that supervises, charters and insures savings in federal credit unions. Provides a directory of chartered Credit Unions including financial performance reports. Also provides a locator to find credit unions by geographic location.
- New York State Department of Financial Services (formerly The New York State Banking Department)
- "To allow the financial industry to expand and prosper through judicious regulation and vigilant supervision, to educate and protect consumers while promoting economic growth and ensuring that the financial system is safe and accessible to all."
- Office of the Comptroller of the Currency (OCC), Administrator of National Banks: Consumer Protection
- Topics include: Reverse Mortgages, Foreclosures, Scams, Rights and Laws, Cashier's Checks, Fraud, Gift Cards, Borrowing against Home Equity, and more. From the U.S. Treasury Department.
Bonds
- Project Invested: Bond Basics
- This site provides information about Bonds, including: Bond Basics, What You Should Know, Buying and Selling Bonds, Types of Bonds, Strategies, Bonds and Your Stage of Life, Municipal Bonds, Government Bonds, and Corporate Bonds. It is provided by the Securities Industry and Financial Markets Association (SIFMA).
- Treasury Securities and Programs (Including Savings Bonds)
- A guide to the Treasury Securities currently available.
- Savings Bond Calculator
- Easily calculate the current value of paper savings bonds.
Commodities, Futures, and Options
- Barchart.com - Commodity Futures Market Overview
- Charts, price quotes, and technical analysis for Commodities, Futures, Stocks, Forex, and exchange-traded funds (ETF).
- Chicago Board Option Exchange
- The Chicago Board Option Exchange offers current and historical options market data as well as educational material.
See also: -
- Options Calculator
- Customizable options and margins calculators. Input parameters include option styles, prices of underlying instruments, expirations, strikes, implied volatility, interest rates, dividends, and more.
- CME Group
- Provides a range of benchmark futures and options products covering all major asset classes, including interest rates, equities, FX, commodities, and alternative investments such as weather and real estate.
- Commodities - Latest Trading Prices and Data from CNNMoney.com
- Provided by CNN, Fortune & Money. Offers trading prices, data and news headlines on the U.S. Commodity market and exchange.
- Commodity Futures & Financial Market Charts
- TFC provides free commodity and financial charts, an online glossary and an online short course.
- Latest Commodity Prices
- Review commodities and pricing by timeframes (week, months, years, decade). Topics include: Metals (Gold, Silver, Copper, Platinum, Palladium), Energies (Crude Oil, Heating Oil, Gas, Natural Gas, Crude Oil Brent, Ethanol Futures), Grains (Wheat, Corn, Soybeans, Soybean, Meal, Soybean Oil, Oats, Rice, Wheat), Meats (Cattle, Hogs, Milk), and Softs (Cotton, Orange Juice, Sugar, Coffee, Cocoa, Lumber). From NASDAQ.
- Options Clearing Corporation
- The Options Clearing Corporation is a registered options clearing agency.
- Options Industry Council
- Offers a variety of options education including online classes, glossary, quotes, options chains, and tutorials on options basics, equity options, index options, LEAPs and volatility. Links to the Options Clearing Corporation.
Currency
- Currency Converter
- Provided by OANDA Corp. Current and historical rates for the entire world's currencies and four metals. Also provides a glossary of currency terms.
- International Monetary Fund (IMF)
- An organization of 189 countries, working to foster global monetary cooperation, secure financial stability, facilitate international trade, promote high employment and sustainable economic growth, and reduce poverty around the world.
- The United States Mint - U.S. Department of the Treasury
- Official website for the U.S. Mint - responsible for producing and distributing coins.
- U.S. Bureau of Engraving and Printing
- Official website for the U.S. Bureau of Engraving and Printing - responsible for producing and distributing paper money.
- Virtual Currencies / Electronic Currency / Digital Money
-
Insurance
- Financial Ratings Series Online
- Topics include: Automobile Insurance, Elder Care Choices, Health Savings Accounts, Homeowners Insurance, Long-Term Care Insurance, Medicare Prescription Drug Coverage, Medicare Supplement Insurance, Term Life Insurance, Variable Annuities. Available in the library and to members of Thrall at home logging in with their library cards.
- A.M. Best Company
- Provides ratings and analysis of Insurance and Banking Companies. Free registration is required to access information in the Rating Center.
-
Mutual Funds
- The Balance: Mutual Funds
- Provides basic information about Mutual Funds, different types of funds and how to build a portfolio. Provided by The Balance, a Dotdash brand.
- Financial Ratings Series Online
- Rates and provides analysis on 16,000 mutual funds including exchange traded funds (ETFs). Allows you to search for mutual funds based on a number of parameters including performance, assets, and expense ratios. A Middletown Thrall Library card required for use outside of the library.
- Interactive U.S. Money Market Fund Monitor
- "This monitor is designed to track the investment portfolios of money market funds by funds asset types, investments in different countries, counterparties, and other characteristics. Users can view trends and developments across the MMF industry. Data are downloadable and displayed in six interactive charts." From the U.S. Department of the Treasury, Offices of Financial Research (OFR).
- Mutual Funds and Exchange-Traded Funds (ETFs) - A Guide for Investors
- Provided by the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC). Topics include: Key Points to Remember, How Mutual Funds Work, Factors to Consider, Avoiding Common Pitfalls, If You Have Problems, and Glossary of Key Mutual Fund Terms.
Personal Finance
- Better Money Habits
- Free tools and information on personal finance topics such as Credit; Saving & Budgeting; Debt; Home Buying & Renting; Taxes; Car Buying; and Banking Basics. From the Khan Academy and Bank of America.
- Consumer Complaint Database
- "Each week we send thousands of consumers' complaints about financial products and services to companies for response. Those complaints are published here after the company responds or after 15 days, whichever comes first. By adding their voice, consumers help improve the financial marketplace." From the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau (CFPB).
- Kiplinger
- Offers personal finance and investing advice, financial management tools and business forecasting. Includes articles from current and past issues of Kiplinger's Personal Finance magazine.
- FTC: Financial Educators | Consumer Information
- From the U.S. Federal Trade Commission (FTC). Sections include: Money & Credit, Homes & Mortgages, Health & Fitness, Jobs & Making Money, Privacy & Identity, Video & Media, Blog, and Scam Alerts. Also available in Spanish / en Español.
- MyMoney.gov
- Numerous tips and advice from the Financial Literacy & Education Commission of the U.S. Treasury Department. Popular topics include: Spending Plan, Managing Debt and Credit, Dealing with Mortgages, Planning for Retirement, Saving & Investing, Getting a Loan, Getting Insured, Knowing Your Consumer Rights and Scams/Fraud. The site also provides calculators, checklists, and budgeting worksheets. Links to other government websites.
- Personal Finance: Official Information and Services from the U.S. Government
- Government information about personal finance, homeownership, retirement, and estate planning. Topics include: Credit and Debt (Bankruptcy, Credit Reports, Manage Debt, Personal Credit Help, Student Financial Aid, Student Loan Consolidation), Home Ownership (Mortgage Resources, Homes and Housing), Money Management (Bank Complaints, Cars, Charities, Benefits and Grants from the Government, Lottery Results, Saving and Investing) and Retirement and Estate Planning (Estate and Gift Taxes, Retirement Estimator, Retirement Plans Benefits and Savings).
- Personal Finance - TheStreet.com
- News and articles. Money management and retirement help, financial market and Wall Street news, trading stock and personal finance advice.
- Personal Finance Advice - Personal Financial Management
- Provided by MarketWatch, includes information on Real Estate, Taxes, Retirement, Spending & Saving, Careers, Small Businesses and Credit Cards.
- Calculators: Mortgage, Auto, Credit, Retirement, Savings
- Provides a variety of calculators relating to Mortgage and Home Equity, Auto, Credit Cards, Savings & Investment and Retirement. Provided by Bankrate.com.
Retirement
- AARP: Money
- News, articles, and tips tailored for retired persons and seniors from the American Association of Retired Persons (AARP).
- New York State and Local Retirement System
- New York State Office of the State Comptroller. Information for employers and current or prospective retirees in New York State.
- Social Security Online - The Official Website of the U.S. Social Security Administration
- Includes Social Security Earnings Statements, Estimating Your Retirement Benefits, Forms and Publications, Local Offices, and Applying Online.
- Retirement: USA.gov
- Official Information and Services from the U.S. Government. Includes links to the Department of Labor and the Social Security Administration.
Stocks & Stock Symbols
Stock Symbols
- BigCharts: Symbol Lookup
- MarketWatch Virtual Stock Exchange
- Trade stocks in real-time with a virtual portfolio. Join or create a public or private game. Also includes resources for teachers to use the game with their classes. Requires a free MarketWatch account.
- NASDAQ
- NYSE
- New York Stock Exchange.
- Marketwatch
Stocks - Charts, Reports, News, Dividends, & Histories
- BigCharts (a service of MarketWatch)
- A free service providing access to professional level investing tools - quotes, news, interactive charts, industry analysis and stock screens. Historical quotes go back to 1985.
- Business Insights: Essentials (formerly Business and Company Resource Center)
- Accessible to current Thrall / RCLS library cardholders. Information on over 400,000 US and international companies: histories, chronologies, rankings, investment reports, more.
- Financial Ratings Series Online
- Rates and provides analysis on over 6,000 stocks. Allows you to search for stocks based on a number of parameters including growth, income, total return, efficiency, solvency, and volatility. A Middletown Thrall Library card is required for use outside of the library.
- MarketWatch
- Stock market quotes, business and financial news. Subsidiary of Dow Jones & Company, Inc.