ACA - Affordable Care Act Resources - Health Care Reform - Health Insurance - Obamacare: Affordable Care Act Resources

Learn about the Affordable Care Act from official government websites and protect yourself from potential scams and hoaxes by reviewing consumer advisories.

Affordable Care Act - Official Websites & Related Resources

New York State:

New York State of Health (The New York Health Benefit Exchange)

"The Official Health Plan Marketplace for New York State." This website offers information for individuals, families, small businesses, and stakeholders.

Also includes information on In Person Assistors (IPAs) / Navigators, Certified Application Counselor (CACs), Certified Brokers, and Authorized Representatives.

From NYSoH: "An Exchange is an organized marketplace designed to help people shop for and enroll in health insurance coverage. Individuals, families and small businesses will be able to use the Exchange to help them compare commercial insurance options, calculate costs and select coverage online, in person, over the phone or by mail. The Exchange will also help people to check their eligibility for health care programs like Medicaid and sign up for these programs if they are eligible. The Exchange will also be able to tell what type of financial assistance is available to applicants to help them afford health insurance purchased through NY State of Health." From the New York State Department of Health.

Telephone assistance available in en Español or other languages:

1-855-355-5777 (toll free)
TTY 1-800-662-1220

Federal Health Care Reform Implementation in New York State

From the New York State Department of Health.

HealthCare.gov

Note to New Yorkers from HealthCare.gov: "If you live in New York, New York State of Health is the Health Insurance Marketplace to serve you. Instead of HealthCare.gov, you'll use the New York State of Health website to apply for coverage, compare plans, and enroll."

Website description from HealthCare.gov: "It's a website designed to help you take control of your health care - by putting the power of information at your fingertips." From the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS).

Also available: CuidadoDeSalud.Gov, a Spanish edition of HealthCare.gov.

See also their glossary of terms and concepts (glosario - en Español).

Other Government Resources

Federal websites:

About the New Health Care Law

Overview and full text of the Affordable Cara Act, the Patient's Bill of Rights, and related topics. From the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS). (en Español - PDF)

Affordable Care Act (ACA) Tax Provisions

"The Affordable Care Act (ACA), or health care law, includes new health insurance coverage and financial assistance options, including the Premium Tax Credit, for individuals and families. The IRS will administer the tax provisions included in the law." Includes information for individuals, families, organizations, businesses, employers, and more. From the U.S. Internal Revenue Service (IRS).

Congressional Budget Office (CBO): Affordable Care Act Analyses

"CBO's analyses of the health care legislation considered during the 111th Congress began in early 2009 and continued past the enactment of the Affordable Care Act (which consists of P.L. 111-148 as amended by P.L. 111-152) in March 2010. The agency's work on the act covers a wide range of topics, some related to specific legislative proposals and some with a broader perspective." See also CBO's Health Care page.

Health & Human Services (HHS): How the Health Care Law is Making a Difference for the People of New York

Medicaid: Affordable Care Act

Includes details about the Act's laws, provisions, and implementation timeline.

Medicare: The Affordable Care Act and Medicare

"Top 5 things to know about the Affordable Care Act (ACA) if you have Medicare." From Medicare.gov.

New York State: Federal Health Care Reform Implementation in NYS

"Learn how health care reform will affect you and New York State." Information provided by the NYS Governor.

Full Text of the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act and the Health Care and Education Reconciliation Act

Online and downloadable editions of the health laws.

Small Business Administration (SBA): Health Care Reform

"Learn more about how health care reform will benefit your small business, employees and their families."

Also from SBA:

The Affordable Care Act: Dates Every Small Business Owner Should Know

U.S. Department of Labor (DOL): Affordable Care Act

Regulations, guidance, and other related information from DOL.

VA, Affordable Care Act, and You

Information for veterans from the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs.

What if Someone Doesn't Have Health Coverage in 2014?

Answers concerning possible fees for uninsured persons. From HealthCare.gov.

The White House: Health Care Reform

An overview of health care reform legislation. Includes information about Medicare and small business owners.

WomensHealth.gov: The Affordable Care Act - Addressing the Unique Health Needs of Women

Infographic illustrating how new health care laws affect health care for women.

*Other Websites about the Affordable Care Act & Health Care Reform(* Some resources in this section are non-governmental.)

Consumer Advisory: Beware of Potential Affordable Care Act Scams

Alerts from the U.S. Federal Trade Commission (FTC) and the Better Business Bureau (BBB).

Consumer Reports: How the New Law Affects You and Your Benefits

Includes two publications: "Medicare: 6 Things You Need to Know Now" and "The Affordable Care Act: What You and Your Family Need to Know"

HealthLawHelper

"We've created the Health Law Helper to give consumers accurate and unbiased information about this complex new law and how it affects them. HealthLawHelper is an informational tool designed for individual consumers. It incorporates the best information Consumer Reports has about the federal healthcare law's impact on consumers." From Consumer Reports.

Kaiser Family Foundation: Health Reform

News, statistics, and other topics including:

For Consumers: Understanding Health Reform: Includes answers to Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ).
Estimate Your Health Reform Subsidy: "Plug in your income, family size, age and tobacco usage into our subsidy calculator to get a rough estimate of how the Affordable Care Act might impact you financially."
Health Reform Implementation Timeline
State Health Facts: Choose by category (e.g. Demographics, Health Costs, Health Insurance, Budgets, Providers) or by state.
State Health Insurance Marketplace Profiles: "Up-to-date state profiles give an in-depth look at each state's progress in setting up health insurance marketplaces, also known as exchanges."

The New York Times: Health Care, Health Insurance, Health Reform News

Supreme Court Opinion on Health Care Law (June 28, 2012)