Magazines, Homework Help, Databases at Blauvelt: Students/Kids
Tutoring Services
Reference Databases for Students
- A to Z Maps Online - Blauvelt
The world's most useful subscription-based database of proprietary, royalty-free world, continent, country, and state maps.
Funded by the Blauvelt Free Library.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
- A to Z the USA - Blauvelt
Maps, Flags, Photos, and Facts of State, County, and City Information for the 50 United States and Territories.
Funded by the Blauvelt Free Library.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
- Black Freedom Struggle in the United States
This curated selection of primary sources is designed for teaching and learning about the struggles and triumphs of Black Americans. Developed with input from Black history scholars and advisors, its easily discoverable materials are ideal for assignments and special projects focused on U.S. Black history.
- Britannica Escolar - Blauvelt
Britannica Escolar está diseñado específicamente para estudiantes Primaria & Secundaria e incluye artículos, imágenes, videos y un atlas. / Discover the leading knowledge-building resource that is universally trusted for accurate and age-appropriate content in Spanish.
Funded by the New York State Library NOVEL program.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
- Britannica School - Blauvelt
Britannica School is the go-to site for learning more about any subject—for all grades and all reading abilities—offering thousands of up-to-date, curated, and curriculum-relevant articles, images, videos, audio clips, primary sources, maps, research tools, recommended Web sites, and three separate databases—Elementary, Middle, or High.
Funded by the New York State Library NOVEL program.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
- Global Road Warrior - Blauvelt
Ultimate guide to 175 world countries.
Funded by the Blauvelt Free Library.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
- Issues & Controversies - Blauvelt
Helps students and researchers understand the crucial issues we face today, exploring more than 800 hot topics in business, politics, government, education, and popular culture.
Funded by the Blauvelt Free Library.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
- Issues & Controversies in American History - Blauvelt
This accessible educational database delivers dynamic, concise, and balanced coverage that provides the background, outcome, and contemporary points of view for every major debate and conflict in American history.
Funded by the Blauvelt Free Library.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
- LearningExpress Library - Blauvelt
Test preparation materials and interactive practice exams that will help people improve their scores on academic, civil service, military, and professional licensing and certification exams, including the PSAT, SAT, and GED.
Funded by the Blauvelt Free Library.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
- NoveList K-8 Plus - Blauvelt
A reader's advisory service. Find youth fiction and non-fiction titles similar to authors or titles you already enjoy.
Funded by the RCLS Central Library (Newburgh Free Library).
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
- Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context) - Blauvelt
The premier online resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration.
Funded by the New York State Library NOVEL program.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
- Middle School (Gale in Context) - Blauvelt
Created specifically for middle-schoolers, Research in Context combines the best of Gale's reference content with age-appropriate videos, newspapers, magazines, primary sources, and much more. Students will find outstanding support to complete assignments in core subjects including literature, science, social studies, and history.
Funded by the New York State Library NOVEL program.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
- World Book Online - Blauvelt
Access the complete World Book Encyclopedia, complete with multimedia (images, audio, video), special features, news, and related web links.
Funded by the Blauvelt Free Library.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
Databases for finding magazine, newspaper & journal articles
- America's News
Find information on topics related to business, health, education, government, politics and more from a variety of news media including newspapers, newswires, blogs, videos and web-only content including over 80 New York News sources, The Record and USA Today.
Funded by the Blauvelt Free Library.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
- EBSCO Explora - Blauvelt
Explora is EBSCO's interface for Schools and Public Libraries. Designed to meet the unique needs of its users, Explora supports both student research and classroom instruction.
Funded by RCLS and Central Library (Newburgh)
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
- General OneFile (Gale) - Blauvelt
More than 7,100 general interest periodical full-text titles and 3,600 journals, and hundreds of newspapers. Also more than 500 travel guides, including Fodors.
Funded by the New York State Library NOVEL Program.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
- Gale in Context: Elementary - Blauvelt
Gale In Context: Elementary (formerly Kids InfoBits), introduces elementary school students to database searching with easy-to-use resources featuring age-appropriate, curriculum-related content.
Funded by the New York State Library NOVEL program.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
eContent
- ComicsPlus Kids Collection
Unlimited Access to thousands of digital comics, graphic novels, and manga from more than 100 publishers. All available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.
New registrants should enter "Ramapo Catskill" as the library name.