West Nyack Local History : Local History Internet Resources and Databases
A collection of local history images, books and internet sources about West Nyack.
Database List A-Z
- Ancestry Library Edition - West Nyack
Ancestry is the most comprehensive online source of information for conducting genealogical and local history research available.
Funded by the West Nyack Free Library.
- Chronicling America
Search America's historic newspapers pages from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
- HRVH Historical Newspapers
HRVH Historical Newspapers provides access to digitized copies of historical newspapers from the Hudson River Valley region of New York State. Includes several Rockland and Orange County newspapers.
Funded by federal funds, New York State funding for library systems, special grants and annual membership dues.
- New York Heritage
New York Heritage is a research portal for students, educators, historians, genealogists, and anyone else who is interested in learning more about the people, places and institutions of New York State. The collections in New York Heritage represent a broad range of historical, scholarly, and cultural materials held in libraries, museums, and archives throughout the state. Collection items include photographs, letters, diaries, directories, maps, books, and more.
New York Heritage is a collaborative project of eight Empire State Library Network members: Capital District Library Council, Central New York Library Resources Council, Long Island Library Resources Council, Northern New York Library Network, Rochester Regional Library Council, Southeastern New York Library Resources Council, South Central Regional Library Council, and Western New York Library Resources Council.
- JSTOR Early Journal Content
Content in JSTOR published prior to 1923 in the United States and prior to 1870 elsewhere includes discourse and scholarship in the arts, humanities, economics, politics, mathematics and sciences. Nearly 500,000 articles from more than 200 journals.
Hudson River Valley Heritage
Local History Internet Resources
- Heritage of West NyackFormed by members of the West Nyack Hamlet Revitalization Committee who recognized that there were many issues and opportunities for community benefit which extend beyond the physical reconstruction of the central hamlet.
- Historical Marker DatabaseThis website is an illustrated searchable online catalog of historical information viewed through the filter of roadside and other permanent outdoor markers, monuments, and plaques.
- Historical Society of Rockland CountyThe Historical Society of Rockland County acquires, preserves, and exhibits objects, buildings and sites which reflect primarily the history of Rockland County and the Lower Hudson Valley, and researches, documents, promotes and publicizes the rich historical heritage of the county for the people of Rockland.
- New York HeritageProviding online access to historical materials from New York State's Hudson River Valley.
- Genealogical Society of Rockland CountyThe Society was organized in October, 1985 by members of the Historians Roundtable of the Historical Society of Rockland County (NY). It is a non-profit organization, sponsored by the New City Library.
- FamilySearch
Our records span billions of names across hundreds of collections—including birth, marriage, death, probate, land, military, IGI extracted, and more.
