Magazines and Databases at Pearl River: Students
These are databases that Pearl River Library buys individually. Check out the other tabs for even more databases that we offer via the RC Library System!
Tutoring Services
- Tutor.com - Pearl River
Tutor.com provides high-quality one-on-one online learning and career services for library patrons. All sessions are online with professional academic or career tutors. Patrons can work with an online tutor through text or voice chat 7 days a week from 3PM - 10PM. Select services are also available in Spanish. Funded by Pearl River Public Library and Central Library (Newburgh).
Reference Databases for Students
- Black Freedom Struggle in the United States
This curated selection of primary sources is designed for teaching and learning about the struggles and triumphs of Black Americans. Developed with input from Black history scholars and advisors, its easily discoverable materials are ideal for assignments and special projects focused on U.S. Black history.
- Britannica Escolar - Pearl River
Discover the leading knowledge-building resource that is universally trusted for accurate and age-appropriate content in Spanish. New features make it more valuable than ever for native Spanish speakers, bilingual students, and students learning Spanish.
Funded by the New York State Library NOVEL program.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
- Britannica School - Pearl River
Britannica School is the go-to site for learning more about any subject—for all grades and all reading abilities—offering thousands of up-to-date, curated, and curriculum-relevant articles, images, videos, audio clips, primary sources, maps, research tools, recommended Web sites, and three separate databases—Elementary, Middle, or High.
Funded by the New York State Library NOVEL program.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
- Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context) - Pearl River
The premier online resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration.
Funded by the New York State Library NOVEL program.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
- Middle School (Gale in Context) - Pearl River
Created specifically for middle-schoolers, Research in Context combines the best of Gale's reference content with age-appropriate videos, newspapers, magazines, primary sources, and much more. Students will find outstanding support to complete assignments in core subjects including literature, science, social studies, and history.
Funded by the New York State Library NOVEL program.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
Databases for finding magazine, newspaper & journal articles
- EBSCO Explora - Pearl River
Explora is EBSCO's interface for Schools and Public Libraries. Designed to meet the unique needs of its users, Explora supports both student research and classroom instruction.
Funded by RCLS and Central Library (Newburgh).
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
- EBSCO Masterfile Premiere - Pearl River
Searchable full text for nearly 1,860 journals, including Consumer Reports and Business Week.
Funded by RCLS and the New York State Library NOVEL program.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
- General OneFile (Gale) - Pearl River
More than 7,100 general interest periodical full-text titles and 3,600 journals, and hundreds of newspapers. Also more than 500 travel guides, including Fodors.
Funded by the New York State Library NOVEL Program.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
eContent
- ComicsPlus Kids Collection
Unlimited Access to thousands of digital comics, graphic novels, and manga from more than 100 publishers. All available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.
New registrants should enter "Ramapo Catskill" as the library name.
