Databases -- Finkelstein Memorial Library: ALL DATABASES
A
- ABMS Board Certification Search This link opens in a new window
[The American Board of Medical Specialists'] online verification service is available for personal use by consumers to research physicians. You will be asked to register for the service by typing in some basic information. To verify a physician's Board Certification status, simply go to www.CertificationMatters.org, enter your search criteria and click on the search button. If you are already logged in, you will see your results immediately; otherwise, you will be asked to identify whether you are a new or returning user.
- Academic OneFile (Gale) - Spring Valley This link opens in a new window
More than 13,000 titles, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals and more than 5,000 in full text with strong coverage of hard sciences, medicine, engineering and business.
Funded by the New York State NOVEL Program.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
- Accredited Schools Online
The sheer volume of schools with online programs makes it easier for students to find distance-learning opportunities. However, it also makes it easier to find poor ones. When vetting online schools, selecting one with the right accreditation is absolutely critical.
- Ancestry.com New York Records
Several New York repositories have formed a partnership with Ancestry.com to digitize family history records and make them available on line for free. Descriptions of the records as well as the holding organizations are provided through the links and logos on the Ancestry.com New York web page.
Access courtesy of the New York State Archives
- AtoZdatabases - Spring Valley This link opens in a new window
AtoZdatabases is the premier reference and marketing database marketed to Library, Academic, and Government institutions throughout the U.S. This simple, user-friendly, web-based solution provides details on every business and every household within the U.S.
Funded by the Finkelstein Memorial Library.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
B
- BioMed Central This link opens in a new window
BioMed Central is an open-access publisher of peer-reviewed articles from a variety of academic journals across the health-sciences disciples. BioMed Central's portfolio of 257 journals includes general titles BMC Biology and BMC Medicine alongside specialist journals (e.g. BMC Bioinformatics, Malaria Journal) that focus on particular disciplines.
- Black Freedom Struggle in the United States
This curated selection of primary sources is designed for teaching and learning about the struggles and triumphs of Black Americans. Developed with input from Black history scholars and advisors, its easily discoverable materials are ideal for assignments and special projects focused on U.S. Black history.
- Gale Books and Authors - Spring Valley
Answer the age-old question, 'What do I read next?' Search and match reading interests to books, authors, genres, or topics.
Funded by the New York State Library NOVEL Program. - Britannica Academic - Spring Valley
Britannica Academic delivers fast and easy access to high-quality, comprehensive information. The rich combination of the venerable Encyclopædia Britannica plus Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary, magazines and periodicals, and many other research tools provides the variety of reliable sources that students need to consult when conducting thorough collegiate research—all from one resource.
Funded by the New York State Library NOVEL program.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
- Britannica Escolar - Spring Valley
Discover the leading knowledge-building resource that is universally trusted for accurate and age-appropriate content in Spanish. New features make it more valuable than ever for native Spanish speakers, bilingual students, and students learning Spanish.
Funded by the New York State Library NOVEL program.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
- Britannica School - Spring Valley
Britannica School is the go-to site for learning more about any subject—for all grades and all reading abilities—offering thousands of up-to-date, curated, and curriculum-relevant articles, images, videos, audio clips, primary sources, maps, research tools, recommended Web sites, and three separate databases—Elementary, Middle, or High.
Funded by the New York State Library NOVEL program.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
- Business Insights: Essentials (Gale) - Spring Valley
Company profiles, company brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies, periodicals, and more.
Funded by New York State NOVEL Program.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
C
- CareerBuilder
We have made it our business to help job seekers and employers around the world connect anytime, anywhere.
- Chronicling America
Search America's historic newspapers pages from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
- CIA World Factbook
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
- CliffsNotes This link opens in a new window
CliffsNotes is the original (and most widely imitated) study guide. CliffsNotes study guides are written by real teachers and professors, so no matter what you're studying, CliffsNotes can ease your homework headaches and help you score high on exams.
- CollegeSource - Spring Valley
CollegeSource Online is a database of 79,063 digital college catalogs,
institution profiles, transcript keys, and other critical resources.
Funded by the Finkelstein Memorial Library.
- ComicsPlus Full Library
Unlimited Access to thousands of digital comics, graphic novels, and manga from more than 100 publishers. All available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.
New registrants should enter "Ramapo Catskill" as the library name.
- ComicsPlus Kids CollectionUnlimited Access to thousands of digital comics, graphic novels, and manga from more than 100 publishers. All available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.
New registrants should enter "Ramapo Catskill" as the library name.
- Consolidated Laws of New York
Current laws of New York State listed by Code Section with keyword search access.
- Consumer Reports - Spring Valley
Consumer Reports tests, rates, and reviews thousands of consumer products and services at both its testing center in Westchester County, N.Y., and its auto test center in Colchester, Conn.
Funded by RCLS member libraries
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
- Coursera via NYS Dept of Labor
The New York State Department of Labor is partnering with Coursera, the leading online training provider. Through Coursera, you will have access to nearly 4,000 programs across high-growth industries and can hone skills in data science, business, and technology. Many of these programs are pathways to certifications, professional certificates and can help elevate your career. - CourtHelp
Site is maintained by the NY state court's Access to Justice Program and contains Do-It-Yourself form packets for some family, guardianship, housing and other civil matters. It also has some law guides and information about courts and alternative solutions to legal problems.
- CreativeBug - Spring Valley
With Creativebug you'll enjoy unlimited access to thousands of online art and craft classes. Watch the classes anytime, anywhere. Classes never expire, so you can start and stop projects at your own pace.
D
- Dietary Supplement Label Database
The Dietary Supplement Label Database (DSLD) is a joint project of the National Institutes of Health (NIH) Office of Dietary Supplements (ODS) and National Library of Medicine (NLM). The DSLD contains the full label contents from a sample of dietary supplement products marketed in the U.S.
- Digital Public Library of America
DPLA connects people to the riches held within America’s libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions. All of the materials found through DPLA—photographs, books, maps, news footage, oral histories, personal letters, museum objects, artwork, government documents, and so much more—are free and immediately available in digital format.
- DigitalLearn.org
If you are new to computers, haven't used them for a while, are a little unsure and uncomfortable, or just need a bit of a refresher, we have the tools to help you tackle technology at your own pace and gain the confidence you need to succeed.
- Diversity Employers
DIVERSITY EMPLOYERS/IMDiversity is dedicated to providing career and self-development information to all minorities, specifically African Americans, Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders, Latino/Hispanic Americans, Native Americans and women.
- DMV Permit Test Practice
To apply for a learner permit or driver license in New York State, you must complete an Application for Driver License (MV-44). You must pass a vision and written test and pay the application and license fees. The written test covers the contents of the New York State DMV Driver’s Manual, including road rules, road signs, driving under the influence of alcohol or other drugs, as well as other driving and safety rules.
- DOAJ - Directory of Open Access Journals
Full-Text access to scholarly journals that use a funding model that does not charge readers or their institutions for access.
- Duolingo
Our courses effectively and efficiently teach reading, listening, and speaking skills. Learning a language on Duolingo is completely free, but you can remove ads and make faster progress with Plus.
E
- EBSCO Explora - Spring Valley
Explora is EBSCO's interface for Schools and Public Libraries. Designed to meet the unique needs of its users, Explora supports both student research and classroom instruction.
Funded by RCLS and Central Library (Newburgh).
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
- Educator's Reference Complete (Gale OneFile) - Spring Valley
Educator's Reference Complete provides access to academic journals, reports, and many premier reference sources in the field of education. The database includes content in key subject areas including administration, bilingual education, child development and psychology, funding, health education, technology, and testing. The majority of the full-text titles included are also found in the ERIC database.
Funded by the New York State Library NOVEL program.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
- EdX
EdX offers courses given by professors from such esteemed institutions as MIT, Harvard and UC Berkeley.
- Gale in Context: Elementary - Spring Valley
Gale In Context: Elementary (formerly Kids InfoBits), introduces elementary school students to database searching with easy-to-use resources featuring age-appropriate, curriculum-related content.
Funded by the New York State Library NOVEL program.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
- Encyclopaedia Judaica
The landmark Encyclopaedia Judaica, lauded as the standard work on Judaism since first appearing in the early 1970s, has been extensively revised and expanded for this edition. If prompted for a password, enter: empirelink
Funded by the Ellenville, Monticello, and Finkelstein libraries.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
- Gale Business: Entrepreneurship - Spring Valley
Learn how to start, finance, or manage your small business. Includes sample business plans, how to guides, articles, and more.
Funded by the New York State Library NOVEL Program. - ERIC - Education Resources Information Center
ERIC provides free access to more than 1.2 million bibliographic records of journal articles and other education-related materials and, if available, includes links to full text.
ERIC is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, Institute of Education Sciences (IES).
F
- FamilySearch
Our records span billions of names across hundreds of collections—including birth, marriage, death, probate, land, military, IGI extracted, and more.
- Financial Ratings Series (Weiss) - Spring Valley
Access to the Weiss' Independent and Unbiased Ratings for: Life & Annuity Insurers; Property & Casualty Insurers; HMOs & Health Insurers; Banks; Credit Unions; Stocks; Exchange-Traded Funds; Stock Mutual Funds; Bond & Money Market Mutual Funds
Funded by Finkelstein Memorial Library.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
- Forvo
Forvo is the largest pronunciation guide in the world, the place where you´ll find millions of words pronounced in their original languages.
- Founders Online
George Washington, Benjamin Franklin, John Adams (and family), Thomas Jefferson, Alexander Hamilton, and James Madison. Over 119,000 searchable documents, fully annotated, from the authoritative, federally funded Founding Fathers Papers projects.
- Fueleconomy.gov
FuelEconomy.gov is federal government website that helps consumers make informed fuel economy choices when purchasing a vehicle and helps them achieve the best fuel economy possible from the cars they own.
- Fultonhistory.com: Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Search over 35,875,000 Historical Newspaper Pages from the USA & Canada. Full text search can be retrieved using the Advanced Search option.
G
- GCF Learn Free
GCFLearnFree.org creates and provides quality, innovative online learning opportunities to anyone who wants to improve the technology, literacy and math skills needed to be successful in both work and life.
- General OneFile (Gale) - Spring Valley
More than 7,100 general interest periodical full-text titles and 3,600 refereed journals, and hundreds of newspapers. Also more than 500 travel guides, including Fodor's.
Funded by the New York State Library NOVEL Program.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
- Glassdoor Jobs & Recruitment Site
Glassdoor holds a growing database of more than 8 million company reviews, CEO approval ratings, salary reports, interview reviews and questions, benefits reviews, office photos and more.
REMOTE ACCESS LINK IS SAME AS ON-SITE.
- govinfo
govinfo provides free public access to more than a million official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government of the United States of America.
- Great Schools -- School District Boundary Map
Researching schools in your neighborhood is a snap with our interactive map tool. Enter an address to see school attendance and district boundary lines.
H
- Health and Medicine (Gale OneFile) - Spring Valley This link opens in a new window
Millions of articles from full-text nursing and allied health journals, newspapers, magazines, newsletters; and select consumer health information sources, full-text reference works and hundreds of health-related multimedia.
Funded by the New York State NOVEl Program.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
- Gale Health and Wellness - Spring Valley
Search a full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to alternative medical practices.
Funded by the New York State Library NOVEL Program. - Gale OneFile: High School Edition - Spring Valley
Search magazines, journals, newspapers, and reference on a range of topics. Best for middle- and high-school students.
Funded by the New York State Library NOVEL Program. - Historic Newspapers; Major U.S. Dailies (ProQuest)
This database offers full-text and full-image articles for back issues of the Chicago Tribune, LA Times, NY Times, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post. - Historic Newspapers: U.S. Collection (ProQuest) - Spring Valley
Current and back issues of over 100 U.S. Newspapers including the Journal News, New York Daily News, and Poughkeepsie Journal.
Funded by the Spring Valley - Finkelstein Memorial Library..
- Hoopla - Spring Valley
hoopla is a groundbreaking digital media service offered by your local public library that allows you to borrow movies, music, audiobooks, ebooks, comics and TV shows to enjoy on your computer, tablet, or phone – and even your TV! Funded by the Spring Valley Finkelstein Memorial Library.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
- HRVH Historical Newspapers
HRVH Historical Newspapers provides access to digitized copies of historical newspapers from the Hudson River Valley region of New York State. Includes several Rockland and Orange County newspapers.
Funded by federal funds, New York State funding for library systems, special grants and annual membership dues.
- Hudson Valley Help Wanted.com
Hudson Valley job search and job postings. Optional registration available to apply for postings online or to post resumes.
I
- Indeed This link opens in a new window
As the world's #1 job site, with over 200 million unique visitors every month from over 60 different countries, Indeed has become the catalyst for putting the world to work.
- Informe Académico (Gale OneFile) - Spring Valley
Informe Académico proporciona acceso a periódicos y revistas especializadas de lengua española y portuguesa. La base de datos ofrece una amplia gama de contenidos sobre América Latina. / Informe Académico provides access to Spanish- and Portuguese-language scholarly journals and magazines. The database offers a wide range of content both from and about Latin America.
Funded by the New York State Library NOVEL program.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
J
- JD Power Values (NADA Values)
NADA guides offer a broad range of data, products and services, informational articles, tips and advice and video buying guides that help make the vehicle purchasing process easier for consumers.
- JobNow - Spring Valley This link opens in a new window
Includes career Resources such as free Internet resources for job seekers; including personality and career assessments, a resume builder and interview coaching.
For use in the library or from home with a valid Finkelstein Memorial Library card number.
- Jobs in Logistics
Find careers in Logistics, Supply Chain, Transportation, Freight Forwarding, 3PL, Distribution, Purchasing & Manufacturing.
- JSTOR Early Journal Content
Content in JSTOR published prior to 1923 in the United States and prior to 1870 elsewhere includes discourse and scholarship in the arts, humanities, economics, politics, mathematics and sciences. Nearly 500,000 articles from more than 200 journals.
K
- Kanopy - Spring Valley
Watch over 30000 Documentaries, Classic and Indie Films. On Desktop, Mobile and Roku for Students, Professors & Library Patrons.
Funded by Finkelstein Memorial Library.
- Kelley Blue Book
Information on new and used vehicles. Read more about the history of Kelly Blue Book here: http://www.kbb.com/company/history
- Khan Academy This link opens in a new window
Khan Academy offers free test-prep for SAT, GMAT and more. It also offers subject-specific virtual training organized by grade level. All free for parents, teachers and students.
L
- LawHelpNY
LawHelpNY is an online tool for helping low-income New Yorkers solve their legal problems. Our mission is to: Provide and promote access to, high-quality online information about free legal services throughout New York, about legal rights in a broad range of substantive areas, about the court system, and about related advocacy, government and social service organizations. We are committed to providing information that is user-friendly, in English, Spanish, and other languages, in order to help low-income and other vulnerable New Yorkers achieve equal access to justice.
- Gale OneFile: Leadership and Management - Spring Valley
Search authoritative periodical content covering topics like organizational dynamics, adult learning, and more. Updated daily.
Funded by the New York State Library NOVEL Program. - Gale LegalForms [NYS] - Spring Valley
Access a wide selection of state-specific (and multi-state) legal forms and resources across the most popular legal areas.
Funded by the New York State Library NOVEL Program. - Libby by Overdrive
Try Libby from Overdrive, the app that lets you enjoy ebooks, audiobooks, and magazines on your mobile device. - LinkedIn - Jobs
Use LinkedIn Jobs to harness the power of your network and get hired. LinkedIn Jobs surfaces insights such as who you know at a company, providing you an edge in your job search.
Click on the image below for a tutorial on this database:
- Live Lingua Project
This project is the Internet's largest collection of free public domain language learning materials. It hosts thousands of free ebooks, audios and videos for over 130 languages from around the world. Includes FSI Language Courses; DLI Language Courses; and Peace Corps Language Archive.
M
- Mango Languages - Spring Valley
Mango prepares learners for realistic conversations and communication in over 70 world languages. Powered by intelligent technology and an adaptive algorithm, Mango empowers learners to communicate with confidence.
Funded by the Ramapo Catskill Library System Central Library (Newburgh).
- Ebsco Masterfile Premiere - Spring Valley
Searchable full-text for over 1,850 journals, covering nearly all subjects including general reference, business, health, academic subjects and much more.
Funded by RCLS and the New York State Library NOVEL program.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
- Medline Plus
Information on over 650 diseases and conditions. There are also lists of hospitals and physicians, a medical encyclopedia and a medical dictionary, health information in Spanish, extensive information on prescription and nonprescription drugs, health information from the media, and links to thousands of clinical trials.
Funded by the National Library of Medicine
- Merck Manuals
First published in 1899 as a small reference book for physicians and pharmacists, The Manual grew in size and scope to become one of the most widely used comprehensive medical resources for professionals and consumers.
- Middle School (Gale in Context) - Spring Valley
Created specifically for middle-schoolers, Research in Context combines the best of Gale's reference content with age-appropriate videos, newspapers, magazines, primary sources, and much more. Students will find outstanding support to complete assignments in core subjects including literature, science, social studies, and history.
Funded by the New York State Library NOVEL program.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
- Monster.com This link opens in a new window
A Global online employment solution for people seeking jobs and the employers who need people.
N
- New York Heritage
New York Heritage is a research portal for students, educators, historians, genealogists, and anyone else who is interested in learning more about the people, places and institutions of New York State. The collections in New York Heritage represent a broad range of historical, scholarly, and cultural materials held in libraries, museums, and archives throughout the state. Collection items include photographs, letters, diaries, directories, maps, books, and more.
New York Heritage is a collaborative project of eight Empire State Library Network members: Capital District Library Council, Central New York Library Resources Council, Long Island Library Resources Council, Northern New York Library Network, Rochester Regional Library Council, Southeastern New York Library Resources Council, South Central Regional Library Council, and Western New York Library Resources Council.
- New York State Department of Civil Service Test Guides
Test Guides published by the New York State Department of Civil Service are usually targeted to specific, entry-level titles. Test Guides are not provided for every examination.
- New York Times via Gale - Spring Valley
Full-text access to The New York Times from 1985 - present. (Note: text only. Does not include the NYT Book Review)
Funded by the New York State Library NOVEL program.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
- New York Times via Proquest
Full-text access to the New York Times from 1851-2021 - News (Gale OneFile) - Spring Valley
Full-text of more than 100 major newspapers (New York Times, Financial Times, Dallas Morning News, The Times (London), Boston Herald, Korea Times, Irish Times, & Denver Post.)
Funded by the New York State Library NOVEL program.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
- Finkelstein Library Patron Academy
Tutorials that teach people how to use library e-Resources like eBooks, research databases, and language learning tools. Presented via NicheAcademy.
- NoveList K-8 Plus - Spring Valley
This database helps children in kindergarten through grade 8 locate books to suit their reading tastes and abilities. Includes picture books, "chapter" books and young adult titles, as well as curriculum suggestions for teachers.
Funded by the RCLS Central Library (Newburgh Free Library).
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
- NoveList Plus - Spring Valley This link opens in a new window
Allows readers to use a favorite author or title as a template to locate other authors and titles. 3 powerful search techniques to look for books by subject headings, reviews, and other fields in the title records. Includes non-fiction.
Funded by the RCLS Central Library (Newburgh Free Library).
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
- NYS Historic Newspapers
The NYS Historic Newspapers project provides free online access to a wide range of newspapers chosen to reflect New York's unique history.
O
- Occupational Outlook Handbook
The Occupational Outlook Handbook can help you find career information on duties, education and training, pay, and outlook for hundreds of occupations.
- Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context) - Spring Valley
The premier online resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration.
Funded by the New York State Library NOVEL program.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
- Otzar HaHochma
Otzar HaHochma is the world's largest digital library, containing more than 90,000 Judaic books, scanned page after page in their original format.
For use in the Finkelstein Memorial Library only
- Overseas Jobs
Find overseas jobs and employment, international careers and contracts, and other employment opportunities and resources.
- Overdrive / Libby
Use your library card to enjoy free e-books, e-audiobooks, and films from your library.
P
- Gale Presents: Petersons Test and Career Prep - Spring Valley
Search thousands of college and graduate schools, identify scholarships, take practice tests, create resumes, and explore careers.
Funded by the New York State Library NOVEL Program. - PubMed Central
National Library of Medicine's digital archive of life sciences literature (for medical and health services professionals).
Funded by the National Library of Medicine
R
- Rockland County Personnel Department This link opens in a new window
Rockland County Personnel Department has information on Civil Service exams and currently available positions in Rockland County government.
S
- Saludos.com
SALUDOS.com specializes in joining the hispanic bilingual professional with companies looking for DIVERSITY in the workplace.
T
- Tech Life Unity
Tech Life Unity (formerly known as Techboomer) is a free educational website that teaches older adults and other inexperienced Internet users with basic computer skills about websites that can help improve their quality of life.
U
- Umbra Search African Amercan History
Brings together hundreds of thousands digitized materials on African American history from over 1,000 libraries and archives across the country.
- United States Census Data This link opens in a new window
Census data covers dozens of topics across 130+ surveys and programs. Access more than 2.5 million tables of raw data, maps, profiles, and more to learn about U.S. states, counties, cities, and towns.
V
- VetNow for Veterans - Spring Valley
Our Brainfuse VetNow navigators help veterans and their families understand and apply for the benefits they are eligible for from local, state, or federal programs. From housing and health care to education, mental health, and more, Brainfuse VetNow navigators are ready to help.
Funded by the Ramapo Catskill Library System.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
- Voice of America: Let's Learn English
Let's Learn English is a new course for English learners. Certified American English teachers designed the course for beginners. The course continues for 52 weeks.
W
- WorldCat
WorldCat connects you to the collections and services of more than 10,000 libraries worldwide. It contains all the records cataloged by OCLC member libraries and offers millions of bibliographic records in over 400 languages.
