Finding Primary Sources: Databases
What is a database?
A database is a collection of information organized to help you do your research easily.
What kind of information will I find in a database?
This library's databases contain digital versions of magazine, newspaper, and journal articles. They also contain digital versions of many encyclopedias and reference books. The databases we featured on this page contain digital versions of many primary source documents from American history.
How can I access a database?
Most of our databases are available 24/7 anywhere you can access the internet. You'll click on the link to the database then enter your library card number. Click here for a complete list of databases.
My teacher says I can only use print sources. Does that include articles I find in a database?
You should double check with your teacher about the requirements for your assignment. However, every article you find in a database will include information about the magazine, newspaper, journal, or book in which it originally appeared. Although you are searching using an online tool, the information you find is mostly from print sources originally.
Can I save the articles I find in a database?
Yes, you can save, email, or print articles from the databases.
Databases with Primary Sources
- Milestone Documents in American History via Salem History OnlinePrimary source documents accompanied by in-depth expert analysis documenting important events in American history.
- HRVH Historical NewspapersProvides access to digitized copies of historical newspapers from the Hudson River Valley region of New York State. As a first step toward this vision, The Kingston Daily Freeman has been completely digitized for the years 1903 to 1912. Other newspapers available include the Rockland County Journal and the Rockland County Messenger.
Funded by federal funds, New York State funding for library systems, special grants and annual membership dues.
- Infotrack NewsstandFull-text of more than 100 major newspapers (New York Times, Financial Times, Dallas Morning News, The Times (London), Boston Herald, Korea Times, Irish Times, & Denver Post.)
Funded by the New York State Library NOVEL program.