Local History/Newburgh Free Library: Local History Room
LOCAL HISTORY ROOM NOW OPEN FOR RESEARCHERS
September 17, 2021
The Local History Room will be closed to visitors for walk-in services during our clean up until further notice.
Staff will retrieve items for you and you can view items at a table outside the Local History Room.
The Local History Room's hours of operation for the coming days are:
Fri. Jan. 21, 2022- The Local History Room will be open 11 a.m. to 12 noon & 2 p.m. to 5 p.m.
Sat. Jan. 22, 2022 - The Local History Room will be open 9 a.m. to 1 p.m.
Sun. Jan 23, 2022 - The Local History Room will be closed.
Mon. Jan. 24, 2022 - The Local History Room will be open 9 a.m. to 12 noon & 3 p.m. to 7 p.m.
Tues. Jan. 25, 2022 - The Local History Room will be open 12 noon to 3 p.m. Staff meeting at 3 p.m.
Wed. Jan. 26, 2022 - The Local History Room will be open 9 a.m. to 12 noon & 1 p.m. to 7 p.m.
Thurs. Jan. 27, 2022 - The Local History Room will be open 9 a.m. to 11 a.m. & 2 p.m. to 7 p.m.
Fri. Jan. 28, 2022 - The Local History Room will be open by appointment only.
Sat. Jan. 29, 2022 - The Local History Room will be open by appointment only.
Sun. Jan. 30, 2022 - The Local History Room will be closed.
Hours may change without notice to cover public service desks.
Please call ahead to make an appointment at 845-563-3617.
All health protocols must be followed.
We will try to accommodate walk-ins, but may not be able to do so.
Jan. 4, 2022
The Newburgh Free Library & Local History Room continues its mask wearing inside the Library by the order of the Orange County Department of Heath.
School District administration is waiting on further directives by the NYS Department of Health and the Orange County Dept. of Health.
The Main branch of the Newburgh Free Library that houses the Local History Room is located at 124 Grand Street, Newburgh, NY. Patrons can make appointments to view materials by calling the Local History Librarian at 845-563-3617. If you have difficulty reaching the local history librarian please call Ms Lugo at 845-563-3620. Please be sure to talk to the local history librarian or Ms Lugo before making the trip into the library. Please call the main library number at 845-563-3600 if you have difficulty reaching these librarians. They may be doing other tasks.
All patrons must follow all health and safety protocols for entry into the library. In addition, the wearing of a mask and the wearing of gloves while handling materials must be followed.
We hope to see you soon.
THE LOCAL HISTORY ROOM AT THE NEWBURGH FREE LIBRARY IS USUALLY OPEN MOST WORK DAYS WHEN LOCAL HISTORY STAFF IS AVAILABLE. PLEASE CALL TO MAKE AN APPOINTMENT...ESPECIALLY IF YOU ARE COMING FROM A DISTANCE. OUR DIRECT TELEPHONE LINE IS 845-563-3617. IF YOU HAVE DIFFICULTY REACHING US, PLEASE CALL 845-563-3600 FOR FURTHER ASSISTANCE.
The Newburgh Free Library's school year hours are in effect. Local History Room is open for some Saturday hours during the school year.
The Local History Room's hours of operation include some evening hours.
We try to accommodate walk-ins who have not made an appointment with their questions, but it is not always possible.
The Local History Room now shares its office space with the Community Outreach Department.
The Local History Librarian must also provide service at the public reference desks, requiring schedule changes without notice.
Call ahead at 845-563-3617 to make an appointment.
THE LOCAL HISTORY ROOM WILL BE OPEN SOME EVENINGS FOR EXTENDED HOURS DURING THE SCHOOL YEAR.
- Because of the COVID-19 closures, please be sure to call ahead before making a trip to the Local History Room. Our direct telephone number is 845-563-36717.
Before you come or contact us:
- Please be aware that only articles in the pamphlet file are permitted to be copied by patrons. There is a charge of 15 cents per black & white photocopied page or 50 cents per color copied page. Oversized items are an additional charge. There are also charges for e-mailed and additional charges for mailed or faxed items. Please be sure provide your contact information.
- As a result of damage to irreplaceable books, periodicals, maps, and photographs, the photocopying of these rare reference materials by patrons is prohibited. In case the copying is of extreme importance, staff may be available to assist you at the time of your visit. However, if we cannot help you at the time of your visit, please provide as much information as possible of the item you need copied. In the case of a book for example, please provide the title, author, call number and page numbers of the book needed. Postage fees will also be charged. If you have any questions, please contact the local history librarian Heather H. Georghiou through her e-mail at email@example.com or call her at 845-563-3617.
- If you are calling or e-mailing the local history librarian at firstname.lastname@example.org about an obituary lookup in the Newburgh Evening News OR Middletown Times Herald Record, please provide the following: the individual's name, date of death (month/day/year), and your name and address. We will mail you a copy of the obituary if we find one. If you can provide us a month, day, and year of the person's death we charge $2.00 for the search. If you can only provide us with the month and year, we charge $5.00 for the lookup. You can wait to receive the obituary to send the fee. Please send the fee in a check made out to the Friends of the Newburgh Free Library, att: Heather H. Georghiou, 124 Grand St., Newburgh, NY 12550. We cannot guarantee an obituary was written for any individual. We charge the search fee regardless of whether or not we find an obituary. Please limit your obituary requests to up to three per envelope.
Thank you for your patience and consideration.
Mission of the Local History Room
The Purpose of the local history collection is to collect and preserve materials relevant to the history of Newburgh, NY, and to make these materials available to students, researchers and the general public. The Library holds these materials in trust for future generations, and therefore they can be examined in the local history room only. Historical records have been called the building blocks of history. By saving them, we are helping to preserve the collective memory of our community. We cannot fully understand who we are as a community if we don’t understand who we were as a community and what it once meant to be a member of that community.
Architecture of Historical Newburgh
Scope of the Local History Collection
The major emphasis of the Local History Collection is historical information about the geographical area encompassed by the Enlarged Newburgh City School District. The collection houses materials in a variety of formats including, but not limited to: books, pamphlets, local church records, local cemetery records, census records for Newburgh and surrounding counties, historic landmarks, land grants, maps, microform duplicated books, cd rom disks, photographs, post cards and scrapbooks. The collection does not house materials in the following formats: three-dimensional artifacts, original government or faith based records including marriage or death certificates, or posters. The Library also provides access to Ancestry Library Edition and HeritageQuest. Clients who wish to use either of these databases must have a valid Newburgh library card.
Access to the Local History Room
The 4,000-item collection is available for client use whenever local history room staff is available. The collection is housed in a secured room to which a client must ask to gain admittance. While a librarian is on duty at all times the library is open to answer your general questions about the local history room collection, local history room staff is not always available. If a client is traveling a distance, it is advisable to call ahead so local history staff can plan accordingly. Please call 845-563-3617 to make an appointment or check the staffing schedule. Newburgh Enlarged City School District classes are encouraged to use the facility. If the teacher expects staff to help with a program, prior arrangements must be made.
Purchases, Gifts and Loans
The Library Director approves all materials purchases. Donations will be accepted as an unrestricted gift. Donations must be accepted by the Library Director or Local History Librarian by prior arrangement. Items will not accepted on deposit except by a separate signed agreement that is approved by the library board. The only exception is the temporary loan of items for exhibition. Under special circumstances, items from the Newburgh Free Library will be loaned to the other institutions for exhibition.