Databases at the Newburgh Free Library: CENTRAL LIBRARY SERVICES
Central Library Services
As the Central Library for the Ramapo Catskill Library System, the Newburgh Free Library is committed to providing access to all of its databases to member libraries. See below for a list of databases accessible to Newburgh library card holders or for In-Library-Use only. Our Reference Librarians are happy to take calls or emails from other RCLS library staff members, and will use our resources and databases to answer questions they may have. Database training workshops for member library staff may also be scheduled. We encourage and welcome patrons from other member libraries to come to Newburgh to access the databases here.
For assistance:
Call: Newburgh Free Library's Reference Desk at 845-563-3625.
Email: nflref@rcls.org
For a full list of databases available for Newburgh Free Library card holders, see the A-Z Databases - NEWBURGH list.
Newburgh Only Databases
- Ancestry Library Edition - Newburgh
Provides access to a wide range of resources for genealogical and historical research, including images of the decennial U.S. census from 1790-1930, passenger lists, military records, court, land & probate records, birth, marriage & death records, church records and more! New content added daily.
Funded by the Newburgh Free Library.
For Use in the Library Only
- Auto Repair Source - Newburgh
Designed for touch-enabled devices such as laptops and tablets, Auto Repair Source offers a user-friendly search experience and access to a wealth of information to help users diagnose, repair and maintain today's complex vehicles. Diagrams and images can be easily magnified and printed.
Funded by The Newburgh Free Library.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
- Foundation Directory Online Professional - Newburgh
FDO makes it easy to turn foundations into funders. It’s the only resource you need to search for the foundations most likely to give you grants and manage your prospects through to funding.
Funded by the Newburgh Free Library.
For Use in the Library Only.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library - Newburgh
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7.
Funded by the Newburgh Free Library.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
- HeritageQuest Online - Newburgh
Provides access to a growing collection of research materials for tracing family history and American culture. Includes searchable text of more than 25,000 family & local history books, a subject index to genealogy and local history journals written since 1800, as well as the complete U.S. Federal Census from 1790 - 1930.
Funded by the Newburgh Free Library.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
- LearningExpress Library - Newburgh
Test preparation materials and interactive practice exams that will help people improve their scores on academic, civil service, military, and professional licensing and certification exams, including the PSAT, SAT, GED, and other exams.
Funded by the Newburgh Free Library.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
- Reference Solutions (formerly ReferenceUSA) - Newburgh
A database of 12 million U.S. businesses and 120 million U.S. households. Customized business profiles are available.
Funded by the Newburgh Free Library.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
- WestLaw - Newburgh
Used to research US court cases, statutes and laws. Includes state primary law and binding federal primary law. For help with legal research and searching Westlaw, call Westlaw's Reference Attorneys at 1-800-733-2889, available 24 hours a day..
Funded by the Newburgh Free Library
In-Library Use only
