Genealogy research at the Nyack Library: Home
Birth, Marriage & Death Records
- Birth, Marriage, and Death Records in local government officesThis scan from the Ready Reference Guide for 2011-2012 published by the Rockland County Clerk gives you key contact information for who and where you can retrieve vital records.
This scan from the Ready Reference Guide for 2011-2012 published by the Rockland County Clerk gives you key contact information for who and where you can retrieve vital records.
Nyack High School Yearbooks
The Nyack Library's local history room has a fine collection of the Nyack High School's yearbook, "The Tower." In the early years the annuals were produced under various names such as "The Owl" and the "Blue and Gold." Since 1931 it has been known as "The Tower." We have books as early as 1911, 1921, 1922, 1923, 1925, 1927, 1929, and 1930. It was in 1931 that the yearbook became known as "The Tower." Our collection has a few gaps (1982, 1988, 1989, and 1992), but otherwise it is complete from 1929-2018. For complete holdings of the Tower, click here
Donate Records, Books, and Papers to the local history collection
- Deed of Gift form for The Nyack Library local history collectionDo you have photographs, records, or papers that you would like to donate to the library. Print out and then fill in the form below. Contact local history librarian Brian Jennings if you have questions. He can be reached at bjennings@nyacklibrary.org
Local History Department Video
Published Records
The Records of the A. W. Dutcher's Sons funeral home, 1878-1965Call Number: 929.3747 REC
MOST OF THESE RECORDS WERE PUBLISHED BY THE GENEALOGICAL SOCIETY OF ROCKLAND COUNTY.
The Records of the George M. Holt funeral home, including Purdy and McKenzie 1864-1953Call Number: 929.3747 REC
The Records of the J. Martine & Son Funeral Home 1872-1920Call Number: 929.3747 REC- The records of the Wyman Mock Funeral Home 1919-1942Call Number: 929.3747 REC
- So That All May Be Remembered, Clarkstown Rockland County byCall Number: 929.5 KRECemetery records for Clarkstown
- 1892 New York State census, Rockland CountyCall Number: 317.3 GENThis is actually the census for the entire County & each town is listed individually in a big blue binder. You can also search this census online here: http://rocklandgenealogy.org/census.php
- Burials at Brick Church Cemetery, Rockland County, New York 1774-1994Call Number: 929.3747 BUR
- Population of Nyack, 1893Call Number: 929.3 POPA census was taken in connection with the installation of sewers in Nyack.
- Records of Rev. Uriah Marvin While Pastor of the Reformed Dutch Churches of Union Village (Washington County, NY 1848-1855) and Nyack (Rockland County, NY, 1860-1870) byCall Number: 929.3747 HULRev. Uriah Marvin was Pastor of the Reformed Dutch Church from 1860-1870. The record consists of the marriages, baptisms, funerals and communicants received and dismissed during his pastorate in the Reformed Dutch Church of Nyack as well as those during his time in the Reformed Dutch Church of Washington County, NY (1848-1855).
City Directories
- Allen's Hackensack & Englewood & Bergen County Directory, Nyack, NY Directory, 1897Call Number: 317.4728 DIR
Breed's Directory of the Nyacks and PiermontCall Number: 317.4728 DIR1902-03; 1904-05; 1906-07; 1909-10
Richmond's Directory of Nyack, Upper Nyack, South Nyack, Central Nyack, Grand View, Piermont, and Spark HillCall Number: 317.4728 RIC1914-1915; 1916-1917; 1924-25; 1928-29
