RCLS Home page | DONATE TO RCLS | Library Catalog
Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Annual Report Guide: 2 & 4 - Library Collections & Library Transactions

Created to move all information and reports for the 47 Libraries of RCLS to one place that is always accessible.

Scroll to Reports

Scroll to bottom of page to access your library's 2021 Library Reports furnished by RCLS ...

For help with the Electronic Resources reports, please contact:
Jerry Kuntz:     jkuntz@rcls.org    or       Martha Sullivan:     msullivan@rcls.org

RCLS Helpful Hints 2021 - Section 2

Section 2: LIBRARY COLLECTION

Total holdings in all categories reported must be less than or equal to the previous year’s holdings PLUS additions to holdings.  You will get an edit check if it does not.

Jun-Jul libraries – report were run from Symphony on or near 06/30/2021
Jan-Dec libraries – report were run from Symphony on or near 12/31/2021

Refer to the DLD instructions for an explanation of what type of materials should be included in each holding category.  

2.1 – 2.10 Print Materials: Filled out using the totals from Item Count by State Categories report. For Adult total, add together ADULT and TEEN columns.

2.8 Total Uncataloged Books: Total counts of unbarcoded paperbacks, otherwise leave at 0. Use Symphony’s OTHERPRINT count on 2.10 for print material such as pamphlets and paper government documents.  

     2.13 Electronic Books: 35,768 (Overdrive Ebooks). This is the number of system-wide Ebook copies as of 
    12/31/2021. This number does NOT include your Advantage Shared purchases.

To this number, add counts from your Overdrive Advantage Ebook purchases. RCLSHQ does not have access to individual member-library Advantage counts—they can be obtained from a report run in your library’s Overdrive Marketplace account (the same interface you use to order Advantage titles.) It is found under Insights on the first page under Summary, Holdings - check the box for Advantage Collections. Use the count of Ebook Copies from the first line only.

     2.14 Local Electronic Collections: 8. These are system-wide databases funded by RCLS Central Library including the pool-funded Consumer Reports and NicheAcademy.

   To this number add any non-system-wide databases your library subscribes to. To get this count, go to your Library
   Databases LibGuide. From the A-Z Databases tab, count the databases that say they were funded by your library. Do not
   count free databases.

          Example of a database that you may count:  Ancestry Library Edition: Funded by Albert Wisner Library

You CAN count Freegal, Hoopla, Freading, Zinio, Tumblebooks, and IndieFlix as electronic collections if you license them. See Database Count Guidelines worksheet below - furnished by RCLS.

2.17 Audio - Downloadable Units11,538  (system-wide Overdrive audiobook and music copies). 
To this number, add counts from your Overdrive Advantage audiobook purchases. RCLSHQ does not have access to individual member-library Advantage counts. Log into your library’s Overdrive Marketplace account (the same interface you use to order Advantage titles.)  Under Summary  >Insights on the first page and run the  Holdings report - check the box for Advantage Collections. Use the count of Audiobook Copies only.

      2.18 Video - Downloadable Units 511 (system-wide Overdrive video copies). 

To this number, add counts from your Overdrive Advantage video purchases. RCLSHQ does not have access to individual member-library Advantage counts—they can be obtained from a report run in your library’s Overdrive Marketplace account (the same interface you use to order Advantage titles.) It is found under Insights on the first page: Current Holdings - check the box for Advantage Collections. Use the count of Video Copies only.

      2.19 Other Electronic Materials220,346 (this is the number of web-based government documents and
   other web-based full-text titles for which we added MARC records to the ANSER database PLUS Overdrive Magazine titles)

2.21 Your count of Audio - Found on the Item Count by State Categories report: Add together AUDIODIG & AUDIOMED statistics.

2.22 Your count of Video - Found on the Item Count by State Categories report: Add together VIDEODIG & VIDEOMED statistics.

2.23 Other Circulating Physical Items (new wording - used to say Other Non Electronic) - Found in the Item Count by State Categories report: Add OTHERAV & UNKNOWN / all circulating physical items other than print books, physical audio units, physical video units, and serials. These are materials in a fixed, physical format available for use outside the library. These can include a variety of items types,such as wi–fi hotspots, sewing machines, cake pans, tools, etc.


2.26, 2.27 &
2.29 Additions to Holdings: Use Previous Year Item Added report.   

2.26 Add together the total FICTBOOK and NONFBOOK books

2.27 Add Serials, OTHERPRINT and any UNCAT books 

2.28 Electronic Materials: 12,905 (5,967 system-wide Overdrive + 6,938 gov.docs).   Note: A much higher number of gov docs was added in 2020 than in 2021. The 2020 additions included many revised older gov doc records provided by GPO via MARCIVE.

To this add your Overdrive Advantage copies purchased in past year. You can get that in your Overdrive Marketplace account under Insights->Purchase & Order Reports>Purchased Titles Summary. Set the beginning and end dates for your reporting year. Look for the “Standard copies purchased" count.

2.29 Add together all other materials including AUDIOMED, VIDEOMED, OTHERAV, OTHERELEC, UNKNOWN

 

RCLS Helpful Hints 2021 - Section 4

Section 4: LIBRARY TRANSACTIONS

Use the Previous Year Circ by State Categories report from your RCLS packet to complete 4.l – 4.9 Cataloged Book Circulation: Add together ADULT and TEEN for Adult total.

4.8 Circulation of Adult Other Materials: Add the ADULT and TEEN: AUDIODIG, AUDIOMED, OTHERAV, OTHERPRINT, SERIALS, UNCAT, and VIDEOMED together.

4.9 Circulation of Children’s Other Materials: Add the JUVENILE: AUDIODIG, AUDIOMED, OTHERAV, OTHERPRINT, SERIALS, UNCAT, and VIDEOMED together.

The definition of “Library Transactions” does not include: 

  • Items sent to another autonomous library as interlibrary.
  • Items sent from one outlet of the reporting library to another, i.e., from main library to a branch  

      4.12 Use of Electronic Materials: Enter the total found on the OverDrive Marketplace Circulation Activity report from your RCLS packet. If you license Freading or Hoopla, you may add those checkout counts. Here is a helpful chart to count retrievals for other databases:

      

    4.13 Successful Retrieval of Electronic Information: Add together Document Retrieval totals from all provided vendor reports in your RCLS packet. Licensed system-wide database vendor reports in your packet may include Gale, EBSCO, Britannica, and Consumer Reports. Your library's licensed database retrievals can be added. This may include Zinio, RefSolutions, LinkedIn Learning, Ancestry, and more. Count retrievals, not views or visits. Note: BrainFuse, JobNow and RosettaStone do not offer usage reports that indicate retrievals—they indicate sessions and time within sessions. As of now, there is no place on the State Annual Reports to include these figures.

According to NYS, the reason for not counting, for example, Hoopla titles individually is .... when you're licensing Hoopla, you're licensing an entire catalog, i.e. you do not select and purchase individual titles.

 

4.20 & 4.21 Interlibrary Loans: Use totals at end of the Previous Year ILL Loans and Previous Year ILL Borrows reports included in your packet from RCLS.  

  • Add your SEAL Borrow and Loan report totals, plus
  • Add any Electronic ILLs that you may have processed in 2021.
  • Add OCLC transactions that you have completed.

New Question:
"Regarding the number of Reference Transactions entered, is this an annual count or an annual estimate based on a typical week or weeks? " Select one of the following: (dropdown) CT - Annual Count, ES - Annual Estimate based on Typical Week(s)
.