REVOLUTION IN THE MID-HUDSON: SELECTED SOURCES FOR TEACHERS

This guide was created to help teachers bring primary source based stories of the Mid-Hudson region in the Revolutionary War into the classroom. The counties covered are: Orange, Ulster, Sullivan, and Dutchess.

Ulster County - Region & Background

The following give background and some primary source content. Some files included in this list are attached as documents below, in the event that links are broken.

Revolutionary War chapters from The History of Kingston by Schoonmaker (starts on p. 228)
- https://ia802605.us.archive.org/18/items/historyofkingsto02scho/historyofkingsto02scho.pdf
Ulster County Militia -- name list from New York in the Revolution as Colony and State:
- Transcription of names from book: http://dunhamwilcox.net/ny/ny_rev_levies_ulster.htm
Military Units
- Snyder's Regiment of Militia (1st Ulster): https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Snyder%27s_Regiment_of_Militia
Revolutionary War Pension Affidavits List from the Ulster County Archives
- http://ulstercountyny.gov/archives/documents/RevWarAffidvtLIst.html
By the Grace of God: Free and Independent (Exhibit Description, Historic Huguenot Street)
- https://hhscollections.wordpress.com/2015/06/19/on-display-by-the-grace-of-god-free-and-independent-the-revolutionary-war-in-ulster-county/

Ulster County - Primary Document Sources & Stories

These webpages give primary source stories; if the webpage has moved or the link not working, we have copied and pasted the webpage content below.

Private Joseph Elder
- Website: https://sites.google.com/site/pvtjosephelder/
The Burning of Kingston
- An Account of the British Expedition Above the Highlands of the Hudson River by George W. Pratt contains many primary documents, including the letter below.
- Letter of Abraham Hasbrouck on the burning of Kingston may be found in the above, page n4, or the file appended below.
Thomas Shirkey of New Paltz (pension application)
- Website: http://ulstercountyny.gov/archives/documents/RevWarAffidvt.html
Oath of Allegiance to New York State, 1785
- Website: http://ulstercountyny.gov/archives/exhibits/burning/NYSoath.html
John Brooks of Peenpack, Ulster Count (Pension Application)
- http://revwarny.com/brooksjohn&o.html
Tea Selling Dispute at Kingston, May 1775 (see file below)
Colonel Hasbrouck's Commission as leader of a regiment in Ulster:
- http://digitalcollections.nyhistory.org/islandora/object/islandora%3A4577#page/1/mode/1up