Reference works include dictionaries and encyclopedias and are used primarily by students and researchers.
by Michael Butler (Editor); Murray Moo-Young (Editor, Editor-In-Chief); Colin Webb (Editor); Antonio Moreira (Editor); Bernard Grodzinski (Editor); Z. F. Cui (Editor); Spiros Agathos (Editor); Murray Moo-Young (Editor-In-Chief)
Publication Date: 2011-08-26
The second edition of Comprehensive Biotechnology continues the tradition of the first inclusive work on this dynamic field with up-to-date and essential entries on the principles and practice of biotechnology. The integration of the latest relevant science and industry practice with fundamental biotechnology concepts is presented with entries from internationally recognized world leaders in their given fields.
Dictionary of Biology
by Oxford University Press Staff (Created by); Robert S. Hine (Editor); Elizabeth Martin (Editor)
Publication Date: 2008-03-15
The Dictionary offers more than 5,500 clear and concise entries, including more than 300 entries new to this edition. It provides comprehensive coverage of biology, biophysics, and biochemistry, includes biographical entries on key scientists, and features highlighted entries on important topics such as bioinformatics, genomics, molecular evolution, and protein structure. The new edition also features web links accessed via a companion website, featuring additional information that is regularly updated to ensure that it stays fresh.
Encyclopedia of Food and Health
by Benjamin Caballero (Editor-In-Chief); Paul Finglas (Editor-In-Chief); Fidel Toldrá (Editor-In-Chief)
Publication Date: 2015-11-26
The Encyclopedia comprises five volumes, each containing comprehensive, thorough coverage, and a writing style that is succinct and straightforward. Users will find this to be a meticulously organized resource of the best available summary and conclusions on each topic. Written from a truly international perspective, and covering of all areas of food science and health in over 550 articles, with extensive cross-referencing and further reading at the end of each chapter, this updated encyclopedia is an invaluable resource for both research and educational needs.
Encyclopedia of Food Microbiology
by Carl A. Batt (Editor); Pradip Patel (Editor); Richard K. Robinson (Editor-In-Chief)
Publication Date: 2014-04-02
Written by the world's leading scientists the Encyclopedia of Food Microbiology, Second Edition is a complete, highly structured guide to current knowledge in the field. Fully revised and updated, this encyclopedia reflects the key advances in the field.
Encyclopedia of Human Nutrition
by Lindsay H. Allen (Editor); Benjamin Caballero (Editor-In-Chief); Andrew Prentice (Editor)
Publication Date: 2012-12-28
The 4-volume Encyclopedia of Human Nutrition, Third Edition, is a thorough revision of the previous award-winning version and reflects the scientific advances in the field of human nutrition. An ideal starting point for scientific research, Encyclopedia of Human Nutrition, Third Edition, continues to provide authoritative information in an accessible format, making this complex discipline available to readers at both the professional and non-professional level.
Encyclopedia of Microbiology
by Moselio Schaechter (Editor-In-Chief)
Publication Date: 2009-05-01
Encyclopedia of Microbiology, 3e, is a comprehensive survey of microbiology, edited by world-class researchers. Each article is written by an expert in that specific domain and includes a glossary, list of abbreviations, defining statement, introduction, further reading and cross-references to other related encyclopedia articles.
The Penguin Dictionary of Human Biology
by Michael Thain