Library Home page | Library Catalog
Skip to main content

Research Databases for Students: Databases for High School Students

This guide empowers students, parents, and teachers with the tools and resources necessary to complete research or homework assignments utilizing library research databases and library materials effectively

Databases for High School Students

**Favorite Library Database**
 
 
ACADEMIC ONEFILE
More than 13,000 titles, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals and more than 5,000 in full text with strong coverage of hard sciences, medicine, engineering and business.
 
Funded by the New York State Library NOVEL program

Remote AccessCLICK HERE TO ACCESS FROM HOME


ANCESTRY LIBRARY EDITION
Provides access to a wide range of resources for genealogical and historical research, including images of the U.S. census from 1790-1930, passenger lists, military records, court, land & probate records, birth, marriage & death records, church records and more! New content added daily.
 
Funded by the Newburgh Free Library.

**For Use in the Library Only**


ANNALS OF AMERICAN HISTORY
With over 2,000 primary source documents and 700 pieces of multimedia, Annals of American History is an excellent resource for expanding your understanding of the history and culture of the United States
 
Funded by the Ramapo Catskill Library System

Remote Access CLICK HERE TO ACCESS FROM HOME


BIOGRAPHY IN CONTEXT
A comprehensive database of biographical information on more than one million people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas.
 
Funded by the RCLS Central Library (Newburgh Free Library).

Remote Access CLICK HERE TO ACCESS FROM HOME

CHRONICLING AMERICA

Search America's historic newspapers pages from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.


COUNTRY WATCH
Up-to-date information and news on 191 countries, including political, economic, and business information. For use in the library.

Remote AccessCLICK HERE TO ACCESS FROM HOME


DOAJ - DIRECTORY OF OPEN ACCESS JOURNALS

Full-Text access to scholarly journals that use a funding model that does not charge readers or their institutions for access.


EBSCO MASTERFILE PREMIERE

Searchable full-text for over 1,850 journals, covering nearly all subjects including general reference, business, health, academic subjects and much more. 


Funded by RCLS and the New York State Library NOVEL program


Remote AccessCLICK HERE TO ACCESS FROM HOME


ENCYCLOPEDIA BRITANNICA
Includes the complete Encyclopedia Britannica, Britannica's Internet Guide, and Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary.
Funded by the Ramapo Catskill Library System.
Remote AccessCLICK HERE TO ACCESS FROM HOME


FAMILY SEARCH

Our records span billions of names across hundreds of collections—including birth, marriage, death, probate, land, military, IGI extracted, and more.


FOUNDATION GRANTS TO INDIVIDUALS ONLINE

Foundation Grants for Individuals Online is the only online funding research tool that focuses on foundations that provide financial support for individual grant seekers. It describes over 2,000 programs which provide funding for scholarships, student loans, fellowships, program development, internships, professorships, arts and cultural projects, research, awards/grants by nomination only and general welfare. 


Funded by the Newburgh Free Library


**For Use in the Library Only**


GALE LITERATURE RESOURCE CENTER

Covers more than 90,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,000 of the most-studied authors.


Funded by the RCLS Central Library (Newburgh Free Library).


Remote AccessCLICK HERE TO ACCESS FROM HOME


 

Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7.


Funded by the Newburgh Free Library.


Remote AccessCLICK HERE TO ACCESS 


GANNETT NEWSSTAND COMPLETE

Gannett Newsstand offers exclusive access to over 85 local and regional U.S. newspapers from Gannett including the Journal News, Poughkeepsie Journal, Binghamton Press and Sun-Bulletin.


Funded by the New York State Library NOVEL program


Remote AccessCLICK HERE TO ACCESS FROM HOME


GENERAL ONEFILE

More than 7,100 general interest periodical full-text titles and 3,600 refereed journals, and hundreds of newspapers. Also more than 500 travel guides, including Fodor's.


Funded by the New York State Library NOVEL Program.


Remote AccessCLICK HERE TO ACCESS FROM HOME 


HEALTH REFERENCE CENTER ACADEMIC

Millions of articles from full-text nursing and allied health journals, newspapers, magazines, newsletters; and select consumer health information sources, full-text reference works and hundreds of health-related multimedia. 


Funded by the New York State Library NOVEL program


Remote AccessCLICK HERE TO ACCESS FROM HOME


HERITAGEQUEST ONLINE

Provides access to a growing collection of research materials for tracing family history and American culture. Includes searchable text of more than 25,000 family & local history books, a subject index to genealogy and local history journals written since 1800, as well as the complete U.S. Federal Census from 1790 - 1930.


Funded by the Newburgh Free Library


Remote AccessCLICK HERE TO ACCESS FROM HOME


HRVH HISTORICAL NEWSPAPERS

Provides access to digitized copies of historical newspapers from the Hudson River Valley region of New York State. As a first step toward this vision, The Kingston Daily Freeman has been completely digitized for the years 1903 to 1912. Other newspapers available include the Rockland County Journal and the Rockland County Messenger.


Funded by federal funds, New York State funding for library systems, special grants and annual membership dues.


HUDSON RIVER VALLEY HERITAGE (HRVH)

HRVH provides access to historical materials from digital collections contributed by colleges, libraries, archives, historical societies, museums and cultural organizations from the following counties in New York State: Columbia, Greene, Dutchess, Ulster, Sullivan, Rockland, Orange, Putnam, and Westchester.


Funded by federal funds, New York State funding for library systems, special grants and annual membership dues.


INFOTRAC NEWSSTAND

Includes more than 33.5 million full-text articles from more than 1,100 newspapers, including Atlanta Journal-Constitution, Christian Science Monitor, The Financial Times (London), The New York Times, The Times (London), USA Today and many others.


Funded by the New York State Library NOVEL program


Remote AccessCLICK HERE TO ACCESS FROM HOME


JOB AND CAREER ACCELERATOR

Job & Career Accelerator™ combines everything you need for a successful job search into one easy-to-use online application. 


Funded by The Newburgh Free Library.


Remote AccessCLICK HERE TO ACCESS FROM HOME


JOBNOW!

Includes career Resources such as free Internet resources for job seekers; including personality and career assessments, a resume builder and interview coaching.

Made possible through the Ramapo Catskill Library System


JSTOR EARLY JOURNAL CONTENT
Content in JSTOR published prior to 1923 in the United States and prior to 1870 elsewhere includes discourse and scholarship in the arts, humanities, economics, politics, mathematics and sciences. Nearly 500,000 articles from more than 200 journals.


LEARNING EXPRESS LIBRARY
Free interactive practice exams for a wide variety of tests including the SAT, ASVAB, GED, GRE, Civil Service exams, reading and math skills, and many more.


Funded by the Newburgh Free Library.


Remote AccessCLICK HERE TO ACCESS FROM HOME


MANGO LANGUAGE LEARNING
Learn a foreign language quickly with easy, intuitive online lessons. Choose from over 30 languages and master real conversational skills.


Funded by the Newburgh Free Library.


Remote AccessCLICK HERE TO ACCESS FROM HOME


MEDLINE PLUS
Information on over 650 diseases and conditions. There are also lists of hospitals and physicians, a medical encyclopedia and a medical dictionary, health information in Spanish, extensive information on prescription and nonprescription drugs, health information from the media, and links to thousands of clinical trials.
Funded by the National Library of Medicine


NATIONAL NEWSPAPER INDEX

Provides indexing of America's top five newspapers: The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, The Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times and The Washington Post; 1997-present. 


Funded by the New York State Library NOVEL program


Remote AccessCLICK HERE TO ACCESS FROM HOME


NEW YORK STATE NEWSPAPERS
Indexing of 9 New York state newspapers from Binghamton, Buffalo, New York City, Rochester, Syracuse, and Westchester County (includes Journal News covering Rockland County). 
Funded by the New York State Library NOVEL program


Remote AccessCLICK HERE TO ACCESS FROM HOME



NEW YORK TIMES (2008-2011) - Digital Microfilm


NOVELIST PLUS
An online readers' advisory service, this database helps fiction readers of all ages find the perfect book to read. Search by favorite author, title, genre, or plot description to locate other authors & titles of interest. Includes book discussion guides. 


Funded by the RCLS Central Library (Newburgh Free Library).


Remote AccessCLICK HERE TO ACCESS FROM HOME


OPPOSING VIEWPOINTS IN CONTEXT

Presents pro and con articles on many controversial topics. Also offers topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, and more.


Funded by the New York State Library NOVEL program


Remote AccessCLICK HERE TO ACCESS FROM HOME


PROQUEST HISTORICAL NEWSPAPERS
Offers full-text and full-page images of the New York Times (1851-2005), Boston Globe, Hartford Courant and Wall Street Journal (1889-1989). Topics and Timeline searches, and "This day in History."


Funded by the Newburgh Free Library.


**For Use in the Library Only**