Library Home page | Library Catalog
Skip to main content

Research Databases for Students: Databases for Elementary Students

This guide empowers students, parents, and teachers with the tools and resources necessary to complete research or homework assignments utilizing library research databases and library materials effectively

Databases for Students in Elementary School

**Favorite Elementary Database**
 
 
 
Created for struggling students, 21st-Century Explorer contains essential learning tools such as encyclopedias, atlases, timelines, and a dictionary. 21st-Century Explorer is ideal for reluctant readers, ELL and ESL students, and adult literacy students.
Click on "Level 1for elementary-appropriate material and content.
Funded by the RCLS Central Library (Newburgh Free Library)
Remote Access CLICK HERE TO ACCESS FROM HOME
 
More than 13,000 titles, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals and more than 5,000 in full text with strong coverage of hard sciences, medicine, engineering and business.
Funded by the New York State Library NOVEL program
Remote Access CLICK HERE TO ACCESS FROM HOME
 
Provides access to a wide range of resources for genealogical and historical research, including images of the decennial U.S. census from 1790-1930, passenger lists, military records, court, land & probate records, birth, marriage & death records, church records and more! New content added daily.
Funded by the Newburgh Free Library.
**For Use in the Library Only**

 
 
BIOGRAPHY IN CONTEXT
A comprehensive database of biographical information on more than one million people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas.
Funded by the RCLS Central Library (Newburgh Free Library).
Remote Access CLICK HERE TO ACCESS FROM HOME
 


 Is an online interactive literacy resource that pairs classic fictional video storybooks from Weston Woods with nonfiction eBooks from Scholastic to reinforce reading skills and develop essential real-world knowledge and understanding. 
Remote Access CLICK HERE TO ACCESS FROM HOME
 
 

 
BRITANNICA KIDS
Britannica Elementary; Compton’s by Britannica; and much more.
Funded by the Ramapo Catskill Library System.
Remote Access CLICK HERE TO ACCESS FROM HOME
 

 
CHRONICLING AMERICA
Search America's historic newspapers pages from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
 

 

COUNTRYWATCH
Up-to-date information and news on 191 countries, including political, economic, and business information.
Funded by the Newburgh Free Library.
Remote Access CLICK HERE TO ACCESS FROM HOME
 

 

EBSCO EXPLORA - NEWBURGH

Explora is EBSCO's interface for Schools and Public Libraries. Designed to meet the unique needs of its users, Explora supports both student research and classroom instruction.

Funded by RCLS and the New York State Library NOVEL program

Remote AccessCLICK HERE TO ACCESS FROM HOME

 

 
 
More than 390 magazines, newspapers, books, and transcripts—plus thousands of maps, images, educator-approved websites from Homework Central®, and audio/video titles, all selected as appropriate for elementary school studies.
Funded by New York State Library NOVEL program
Remote Access CLICK HERE TO ACCESS FROM HOME
 

 
 
ENCYCLOPEDIA BRITANNICA
Includes the complete Encyclopedia Britannica, Britannica's Internet Guide, and Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary.
Funded by the Ramapo Catskill Library System.
Remote Access CLICK HERE TO ACCESS FROM HOME
 

 
 
Read electronic books books on a computer, phone or tablet. Gives a fully interactive experience to young readers. Interesting and fun to read books, this collection is focused on STEM topics (Science, Technology, Engineering, Math) which fits the Common Core Curriculum
 

 
 
Brings history to life. Covers resources for study in Grades 5-9
Remote Access CLICK HERE TO ACCESS FROM HOME
 

 
 
GALE LITERATURE RESOURCE CENTER
Covers more than 90,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,000 of the most-studied authors.
Funded by the RCLS Central Library (Newburgh Free Library).
Remote Access CLICK HERE TO ACCESS FROM HOME
 

 
 
GALE VIRTUAL REFERENCE LIBRARY
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7.
Funded by the Newburgh Free Library.
Remote Access CLICK HERE TO ACCESS 
 

 
 
GANNETT NEWSSTAND COMPLETE
Gannett Newsstand offers exclusive access to over 85 local and regional U.S. newspapers from Gannett including the Journal News, Poughkeepsie Journal, Binghamton Press and Sun-Bulletin.
Funded by the New York State Library NOVEL program
Remote Access CLICK HERE TO ACCESS FROM HOME
 

 
 
GENERAL ONEFILE
More than 7,100 general interest periodical full-text titles and 3,600 refereed journals, and hundreds of newspapers. Also more than 500 travel guides, including Fodor's.
Funded by the New York State Library NOVEL Program.
Remote Access CLICK HERE TO ACCESS FROM HOME 
 
 

 
 
HERITAGEQUEST ONLINE
Provides access to a growing collection of research materials for tracing family history and American culture. Includessearchable text of more than 25,000 family & local history books, a subject index to genealogy and local history journals written since 1800, as well as the complete U.S. Federal Census from 1790 - 1930.
Funded by the Newburgh Free Library
Remote Access CLICK HERE TO ACCESS FROM HOME
 

 
 
HRVH HISTORICAL NEWSPAPERS
Provides access to digitized copies of historical newspapers from the Hudson River Valley region of New York State. As a first step toward this vision, The Kingston Daily Freeman has been completely digitized for the years 1903 to 1912. Other newspapers available include the Rockland County Journal and the Rockland County Messenger.
Funded by federal funds, New York State funding for library systems, special grants and annual membership dues.
 

 
 
HUDSON RIVER VALLEY HERITAGE (HRVH)
HRVH provides access to historical materials from digital collections contributed by colleges, libraries, archives, historical societies, museums and cultural organizations from the following counties in New York State: Columbia, Greene, Dutchess, Ulster, Sullivan, Rockland, Orange, Putnam, and Westchester.
Funded by federal funds, New York State funding for library systems, special grants and annual membership dues.
 

 
 
INFOTRAC NEWSSTAND
Includes more than 33.5 million full-text articles from more than 1,100 newspapers, including Atlanta Journal-Constitution, Christian Science Monitor, The Financial Times (London), The New York Times, The Times (London), USA Today and many others.
Funded by the New York State Library NOVEL program
 

 
 
KIDS INFOBITS
Kids InfoBits is like having two databases in one to serve the diverse needs of two groups of young students — those inkindergarten through grade two and the more research-savvy students in grades three through five.
Funded by the New York State Library NOVEL program
Remote AccessCLICK HERE TO ACCESS FROM HOME
 

 
 
LEARNING EXPRESS LIBRARY
Free interactive practice exams for a wide variety of tests including the SAT, ASVAB, GED, GRE, Civil Service exams,reading and math skills, and many more.
Funded by the Newburgh Free Library.
Remote Access CLICK HERE TO ACCESS FROM HOME
 

 
 
MANGO LANGUAGE LEARNING
Learn a foreign language quickly with easy, intuitive online lessons. Choose from over 30 languages and master real conversational skills.
Funded by the Newburgh Free Library.
Remote Access CLICK HERE TO ACCESS FROM HOME
 

 
 
MUZZY
An award winning language program for children. Features interactive language learning games and vocabulary lessons in eight languages.
Funded by the Newburgh Free Library.
Remote Access CLICK HERE TO ACCESS FROM HOME
 

 
 
NATIONAL NEWSPAPER INDEX
Provides indexing of America's top five newspapers: The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, The Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times and The Washington Post; 1997-present. 
Funded by the New York State Library NOVEL program
Remote Access CLICK HERE TO ACCESS FROM HOME
 

 
 
NEW YORK STATE NEWSPAPERS
Indexing of 9 New York state newspapers from Binghamton, Buffalo, New York City, Rochester, Syracuse, and Westchester County (includes Journal News covering Rockland County). 
Funded by the New York State Library NOVEL program
Remote Access CLICK HERE TO ACCESS FROM HOME
 

 
 
NEW YORK TIMES (2008-2014) - Digital Microfilm
 

 

NOVELIST K-8 PLUS
This database helps children in kindergarten through grade 8 locate books to suit their reading tastes and abilities. Includes picture books, "chapter" books and young adult titles, as well as curriculum suggestions for teachers.
Funded by the RCLS Central Library (Newburgh Free Library).
Remote Access CLICK HERE TO ACCESS FROM HOME
 

 
 
TRUEFLIX
Scholastic TrueFlix is an online resource focusing on engaging science and social studies content for students spanning grades 3-5. Interactive movie clips, magazine articles, puzzles, games, and lesson plans for teachers!
Funded by the Newburgh Free Library.
Remote Access CLICK HERE TO ACCESS FROM HOME
 

 
TumbleBooks
A collection of animated, talking picture books that you can choose to read or have read to you. Also features games and puzzles, and language options of French or Spanish.
 

  

Complete List of Databases A-Z at the Newburgh Free Library