Skip to main content

Competences: 23 Things Reference - Thing #13

Practice Exercises

Use Auto Repair Reference Center to answer the following questions:

1.  A patron needs repair instructions for his 2000 Chevrolet Corvette.  He is looking for instructions on how to replace the parking break lever.  Download the instructions as a PDF and send the PDF as an attachment to techservices@ephratapubliclibrary.org.

2.  The same patron needs a diagram of the door locks for his 2000 Chevrolet Corvette.  Download the diagram as a PDF and send the PDF as an attachment to techservices@ephratapubliclibrary.org.

3.  A patron needs repair instructions for his 2000 Ford F-150 pickup (engine type - V6; liters - 4.2).  He is looking for insturctions on how to remove the transmission.  Download the instructions as a PDF and send the PDF as an attachment to techservices@ephratapubliclibrary.org.

4.  The same patron needs a diagram of the mirrors for his 2000 Ford F-150 pickup (engine type - V6; liters - 4.2).  Download the diagram as a PDF and send the PDF as an attachment to techservices@ephratapubliclibrary.org.

Please send one email to techservices@ephratapubliclibrary.org with four PDF attachments.

Reference Question for Thing #14

A middle school student is doing a report on Amelia Earhart and needs a magazine article about the pilot.  Send an email to techservices@ephratapubliclibrary.org citing the magazine article you found and the resource you used to find the article.

Auto Repair Reference Center

The Auto Repair Reference Center (ARRC) database contains do-it-yourself repair and maintenance information on most major manufacturers of domestic and imported vehicles. The database covers more than 35,000 vehicles from 1945 to present.  New repair procedures, TSBs and updates are added to the product on a regular basis. All of the content has been created by ASE certified technicians.

Content/Features include:

  • Coverage of more than 37,000 vehicles from 1945 to present
  • Millions of drawings and step-by-step photographs
  • Approximately 110,000 technical service bulletins & recalls issued by the original equipment vehicle manufacturer
  • Over 180,000 enhanced wiring diagrams for easy viewing and printing
  • Specifications & maintenance schedules
  • Labor Time Guide & Estimator
  • Video overviews of auto systems with AutoIQ
  • Quick Tips (a complete guide to vehicle ownership & maintenance)
  • Ability to email high-quality PDF records
  • Diagnostic information

Repair/Maintenance Information is Provided for:

  • Transmissions
  • Brakes
  • Ignition systems
  • Electrical systems
  • Exhaust systems
  • Heating/Cooling        
  • Wheels/Tires
  • Bodywork
  • Diesel Engines
  • And much more...

View the tutorial below to learn how to search the ARRC database and about the new features.

Kelley Blue Book

Kelley Blue Book reports market value prices for new and used automobiles of all types, as well as RVs, motorcycles, snowmobiles, and personal watercraft. Users can search the KBB website to find out how much money they should pay for a new car, how much a used car is worth, how much their current car is worth, and a lot more!

Practice using the KBB website by finding out what your current car is worth.  To get started:

  • Go to http://www.kbb.com/
  • At the top of the page, under the heading Car Values, select What's my current car worth?
  • Fill out the online form using your car's information.  You be asked the car's year, make, model, mileage, and standard equipment included.

To Access Auto Repair Reference Center

Go to the Ephrata Public Library website.  From the homepage, select the POWER Library icon at the bottom of the page.  The Library System of Lancaster County database authentication page will open in a new tab.  Enter your library card number in the text box available and select the Go to Online Resources button.  Scroll about 1/2 of the way down the page until you see the POWER Library Network icon and click on it.  From the POWER Library menu page select the link for Auto Repair Reference Center.

Help Sheets and User Guides

Check out these great resources!

The Help Sheet is a great, quick resource that contains screen shots on how to perform a vehicle search using Auto Repair Reference Center.

The User Guide goes into detail on all the features and functionality of Auto Repair Reference Center.