Library Home page | Library Catalog
Skip to main content

JOHN HATHORN'S REVOLUTIONARY LEGACY: MANUSCRIPT IMAGES

Gen. John Hathorn of Warwick, NY led the local militia and served on the first Congress of the United States. Learn about John and his wife Elizabeth Welling.

MILITARY MANUAL

When John, a schoolteacher, was first appointed to his position as a military leader, he apparently went out and purchased a "how to" book.  This volume was published in London in 1776.  Collection of the Warwick Historical Society.

ACCEPTS INVITATION FROM JOHN ADAMS

Collection of the Massachusetts Historical Society

 

RECORD OF SLAVE BIRTH

According to New York State law of gradual emancipation, slave owners must register the birth of slaves.  Collection of the New York Historical Society.

RECEIPT FOR PAYMENT FOR SERVICE

Payment Receipt for funds to operate the Committee on Forfeitures (siezing and sale of Loyalst properties)

Archive of the Warwick Historical Society, Raynor Collection

LETTER TO GEORGE WASHINGTON REGARDING TRAVEL PASS

George Washington Papers, Library of Congress

BATTLE OF MINISINK REPORT

The official report of the battle in 1779 by Col. Hathorn owned by the Wisconsin Historical Society as part of the Draper Manuscript Collection, images used with permission.

For a transcript of the handwritten report, click here.

 

Report Page 1

Report Page 2

Report Page 3

Report Page 4

Acceptance of Resignation - Thomas North 1796

Acceptance of letter of resignation, collection of the New York Public Library, Emmet collection

NYPL MSS: 278863