Library Home page | Library Catalog
Skip to main content

Goshen Genealogy: work

A guide to the genealogical resources in the Local History Collection at the Goshen Public Library.

Family History Files

Our Family History Files hold information compiled and given to us on families local and afar. The files include everything from personal correspondence and wedding invitations to newspaper clippiings and family trees.

For a complete list of our Family Files, click here.

We accept documents from any family into our collection, but the majority of our collection represents local families.

Contact our Local HIstorian if you would like to contribute information and documents from your to our Family History Files.

//


 

Cemetery big list

Our Cemetary Records Collection gathers rare books that offer information about cemeteries in the surrounding area and the people buried in them. These books can be used to find a gravesite for someone, and some of the books include detailed information, such as plot numbers, dates of birth and death, or family relationships for the deceased.

Some of the books in our Cemetary Records Collection have information for graves dating back to the early 1800's and some books have infromation from the 21st Century.

Most of the information in the books is arranged by location of cemetery, then alphabetically by name of the deceased, and many of the books include an index of names in the back.

Because the books in our Cemetery Records Collection are rare, they can only be viewed in our Local History Room while it's open. Researchers are welcome to take pictures, and there is also a photocopier available.

 

Scroll down for a list of all the books in our Cemetary Records Collection.

Locations, descriptions, and other info taken from the sources.

Our collection includes books on cemetaries from the following areas:

 

Old Burying Grounds wtihin Harriman and Bear Mountain State Parks by Marjorie Smeltzer-Stevenot (Sharts 974.7951 Har) MAP

 

Cemetary Records: Lincolndale, Pine Hill, St. James Episcopal, Walkill Valley by Gertrude A. Barber (Sharts 974.795 Bar) MAP

Lincolndale Cemetery, Lincolndale, NY - Located about one half mile from the schoolhouse on the main road.

Circleville Cemetery, Circleville, NY - Adjoins the church.

Pine Hill Cemetery, Wawayanda, NY - Located in the town of Wawayanda on Route 6.

St. James Protestant Episcopal Cemetery, Goshen, NY - Located on South Street, opposite Green Street in Goshen.

Walkill Valley Cemetery, Walden, NY - Situtated about 1 mile from Walden, NY. on South Plank Road.

 

Sloatsburg Cemetery Index of Burials by Gene Kuykendall (Sharts 974.301 Kuy)

Sloatsburg Cemetery - Located South of Eagle Valley Road, West of Route 17 Orange Turnpike.

 

Cemeteries of the Town of Minisink 1988 by Edna D. Raymond (Sharts 974.7951 Min)  MAP

Millspaugh Cemetery - On the south side of county Route 22 between Millsburg Road and O'Brien Road 0.3 miles west of Millsburg Road.

Hallstead Cemetery - On the corner of County Route 22 and South Plank Road.

Rome Cemetery - On South Plank Road 0.8 miles south of Rome School Road.

Van Ness Cemetery - On South Plank Road across from the fork with Ridge Road on a hill.

Ridge Cemetery - At the corner of Ridge Road and County Route 1, on a hill beyond the horse exercise track.

Monell Cemetery - On Ridge Road 0.2 miles north of Waterloo Road, on a farm whose barn on the east side of the road is across from a house on the west side, 250 feet from the road on a fence line on the barn side of the road.

Wilcox Cemetery - On the east side of Wilcox Hollow Road 0.1 miles from the town of Minisink and the Town of Greenville line.

Clark Cemetery - On the west side of Pine Hill Road 0.2 miles form teh intersection with Country Route 36 and about 0.1 miles off Pine Hill Road.

Unionville Cemetery - On Jersey Avenue in Unionville 0.1 miles west of Route 284.

Minisink Cemetery - On Route 284, 0.3 miles north of Langlitz Road.

Westtown Presbyterian Church Cemetery - On Route 284, 0.2 miles north of County Route 1, on both sides in back of the Westtown Presbyterian Church.

Reeve Cemetery - On the west side of Route 284 less than 0.1 miles north of the intersection with Whitford Road in a field.

Hill Cemetery - On the west side of Route 284, 0.5 miles south of the intersection with County Route 62, back from the road on the side of a hill where a green highway marker with the number 284, 8301, and 1059 is beside the road.

Neely Cemetery - On the south side of Horton Road, 0.4 miles east of the intersection with Hosler Road, which does not intersecct with County Route 62.

Loree Cemetery - On the east side of Lower Road, 0.7 miles south of County Route 1 and 0.1 miles south of the intersection of Lower Road with Grusy Road.

 

Cemeteries of Chester, NY by The Orange County Historical Society (Sharts 974.7951 Che)

Chester Cemetery - Main Street Route 17.

Community Cemetery - Located on the present farm of Seely Ward, on Route 17, between Chester and Goshen.

Seely Cemetery - Graves on the Seely Farm, about 1/2 mile form Greycourt.

Helme Farm Cemetery - Graves on the former Nathan W. Helme farm near the track of the Newburgh branch of the Erie R.R, about 1 mile from Greycourt.

Duryea Cemetery - South side of Johnson Road. No stones there now.

Slave Cemetery - No stones there now, but said to have been a slave cemetery on Charles Johnson Farm.

Townsend Cemetery - A burial plot on Townsend property is remember, but it is now obliterated.

Yelverton Cemetery - Stones found on former Charles Hunter place in Chester Village.

Holbert Burying Ground - Route 94 on Property of Franklin Shriver.

Wood-McCoy Cemetery - Located on the old McCoy Farm, Sugar Loaf, NY.

Raynor Burial Plot - An almost obliterated burial plot at the intersection of Black Meadow Road with Pine Hill Road.

Kinner Cemetery - West side of Goosepond Mountain Road, no stones there now.

Nathaniel Roe Cemetery - Cemetery on Russel Roe Farm, Laroe Road.

David Roe Cemetery - Burial plot on property of Percy M. Baird, formerly Roe, located on east side of Kings Highway, going from Chester to Sugar Loaf.

Baird Farm Cemetery - On the west side of Kings Highway on P. Baird farm.

Nathaniel Knapp Cemetery - Nathaniel Knapp was buried in the spot on his farm where he killed a bear.

Sugar Loaf Cemetery - On the west side of King's Highway across from Sugar Loaf Firehouse on propery of George Holbert.

Methodist Cemetery - South of Pine Hill Road near intersection with Kings Highway.

David Howell Cemetery - West of Kings Highway and south of Pine Hill Road.

Old Seely Cemetery -

Wood Cemetery -

Howell-Hallock Cemetery -

John Helme Cemetery -

King Cemetery -

Smith-Cooper Cemetery -

Board Burial Plot -

Samuel Davis Cemetery -

Ketchum Family Burial Plot -

Quaker Cemetery -

Roberts Cemetery -

Stevens-Roberts Cemetery -

Cemetery Stones with French Writing -

Salem Methodist Cemetery -

Dutch Hollow Cemetery -

Jonathan Stevens Cemetery -

McGinnisberg Cemetery -

Rumsey Cemetery -

Jeremiah Stevens & Smith Cemetery -

Nicholas Demerest Cemetery -

Galloway Cemetery -

Rhodes Cemetery -

Dobbin Cemetery -

Indian Burial Ground -

Lost Cemetery -

 

Records of the Ridgebury Presbyterian Church with Inscriptions of nearby Cemeteries and other Genealogical notes by WIlliam J. Coulter, Miss Mary Flynn, and Miss Helen M. Benjamin (Sharts 974.7951 Cou)

 

Cemeteries of Town of Hamptonburgh 1980 by The Orange County Genealogical Society and the Hamptonburgh Presbyterian Church Historical Society (Sharts 974.7951 Ham) MAP

Hamptonburgh Cemetery - At the Southwest corner of Sarah Wells Trail and Route 51.

Neelytown Cemetery - On the West side of Neelytown Road North of Eager Road.

Eager Family Cemetery - On the East side of Neelytown Road North of Eager Road.

Tuthill Burial Ground - Loacted to the rear of the old Tuthill Homestead between Route 207 and Everett Road.

Brewster Cemetery - On Hamptonburgh Road Halfway between Sarah Wells Trail and Ridge Road on the Torpey Farm.

Lincolndale Cemetery - Located on a Hillside along Route 208 near Sarah Wells Trail.

Watkins Cemetery - Along Route 208 near Sarah Wells Trail.

Robert Oliver Thompson - Located high atop a hill on a slate ridge alongside Eberton Road in a lone gravesite.

Burial Ground Behind Girardin - Northwest of Maybrook Road, there are three stones buried in the ground without an inscription.

Holy Spirit Ukrainian Catholic Cemetery - Located on Sarah Wells Trail between Day Road and Arbor Road.

Silas Pierson Burial Ground - Located under a large white oak tree at the rear or property owned by Eitel on the Sarah Wells Trail.

Cemetery in Old Keller Excavation - At the corner of Route 208 and Briarbrook Lane.

 

Old Town Burying Ground Newburgh, NY 1898 by Historical Society of Newburgh Bay and the Highlands

Old Town Burying Ground - Located North of South Street between Grand Street and Liberty Street in Newburgh, NY. MAP

 

Saint John's Cemetery Goshen, NY (Sharts 974.5)

St. John's Cemetery - On West Main Street Extension in Goshen.

Cemetery of the Highlands Highland Mills, NY by Mrs. Emma Jones McWhorter and Mrs. Gertrude W. Gray (Sharts 974.7951 Hig)

      Cemetery of the Highlands - Located behind the Highland Mills Methodist Church on Route 32 in Highland Mills.

Montgomery Dutch Church 1734 - 1831 and Berea Cemetery by Glen Erikson (Sharts 974.7951 Mon)

Berea Cemetery - Located at the intersection of Berea Road and Coleman Road in Montgomery, NY.

Reformed Dutch Church of Walden 1849 - 1896 (Sharts 974.7951 Wal)     ????????? WRONG????

Orange County Cemetery Records & Rockland & Sullivan & Ulster by Gertrude A. Barber (Sharts 974.795 Bar)

Old School Baptist Church Brookfield A.K.A. Slate Hill 1803 - 1895 (Sharts 974.7951 Sla)

goodwill presbyterian church churchyard record,

Old Gravestones of Ulster County New York by J. Wilson Poucher, M.D. adn Byron J. Terwilliger (Sharts 974.795)

Ulster County Cemeteris Ulster County New York by Florence Prehn and Audrey M. Klinkenberg (Sharts 929.574 Pre)

 

Coleman's Orange County Tombstone Inscriptions by James C. Coleman and Josephy Lieby (Sharts 929.5 Col)

Pine Hill Cemetery / Families by Bon Brennan (Sharts 974.7951 Pin)

Pine Hill Cemetery - Located on Van Burenville Road west of Route 17M in Walkill, NY.

Revolutionary War and Civil War Soldiers Buried in the Brick Reformed Church Cemeter Montgomery, NY by Virginia S. Moore

Brick (German) Reformed Church Cemetery - Located on Route 17K in Montgomery, NY.


The Churchyard Records of Goodwill Presbyterian Church by Rev. J.H. Thompson (Sharts 974.7951 Tho)

Churchyard of Goodwill Presbyterian Church - On Route 208 half ile off 17K, south of Scott's Corners in Mongomery, NY.

Inscriptions in the Burying Ground at Little Britain, Orange Co., N.Y. 1909 by George Hamilton Morrison (Sharts 974.7951 Lit)

   

Our Church Records may also have information about weddings and geneology.

Cemeteries and Locations

 

Cemeteries of Chester, NY by The Orange County Historical Society (Sharts 974.7951 Che)

Chester Cemetery - Main Street Route 17.

Community Cemetery - Located on the present farm of Seely Ward, on Route 17, between Chester and Goshen.

Seely Cemetery - Graves on the Seely Farm, about 1/2 mile form Greycourt.

Helme Farm Cemetery - Graves on the former Nathan W. Helme farm near the track of the Newburgh branch of the Erie R.R, about 1 mile from Greycourt.

Duryea Cemetery - South side of Johnson Road. No stones there now.

Slave Cemetery - No stones there now, but said to have been a slave cemetery on Charles Johnson Farm.

Townsend Cemetery - A burial plot on Townsend property is remember, but it is now obliterated.

Yelverton Cemetery - Stones found on former Charles Hunter place in Chester Village.

Holbert Burying Ground - Route 94 on Property of Franklin Shriver.

Wood-McCoy Cemetery - Located on the old McCoy Farm, Sugar Loaf, NY.

Raynor Burial Plot - An almost obliterated burial plot at the intersection of Black Meadow Road with Pine Hill Road.

Kinner Cemetery - West side of Goosepond Mountain Road, no stones there now.

Nathaniel Roe Cemetery - Cemetery on Russel Roe Farm, Laroe Road.

David Roe Cemetery - Burial plot on property of Percy M. Baird, formerly Roe, located on east side of Kings Highway, going from Chester to Sugar Loaf.

Baird Farm Cemetery - On the west side of Kings Highway on P. Baird farm.

Nathaniel Knapp Cemetery - Nathaniel Knapp was buried in the spot on his farm where he killed a bear.

Sugar Loaf Cemetery - On the west side of King's Highway across from Sugar Loaf Firehouse on propery of George Holbert.

Methodist Cemetery - South of Pine Hill Road near intersection with Kings Highway.

David Howell Cemetery - West of Kings Highway and south of Pine Hill Road.

Old Seely Cemetery - See Cemeteries of Chester, NY. in the Local History Room for Location.

Wood Cemetery - See Cemeteries of Chester, NY. in the Local History Room for Location.

Howell-Hallock Cemetery - See Cemeteries of Chester, NY. in the Local History Room for Location.

John Helme Cemetery - See Cemeteries of Chester, NY. in the Local History Room for Location.

King Cemetery - See Cemeteries of Chester, NY. in the Local History Room for Location.

Smith-Cooper Cemetery - See Cemeteries of Chester, NY. in the Local History Room for Location.

Board Burial Plot - See Cemeteries of Chester, NY. in the Local History Room for Location.

Samuel Davis Cemetery - See Cemeteries of Chester, NY. in the Local History Room for Location.

Ketchum Family Burial Plot - See Cemeteries of Chester, NY. in the Local History Room for Location.

Quaker Cemetery - See Cemeteries of Chester, NY. in the Local History Room for Location.

Roberts Cemetery - See Cemeteries of Chester, NY. in the Local History Room for Location.

Stevens-Roberts Cemetery - See Cemeteries of Chester, NY. in the Local History Room for Location.

Cemetery Stones with French Writing - See Cemeteries of Chester, NY. in the Local History Room for Location.

Salem Methodist Cemetery - See Cemeteries of Chester, NY. in the Local History Room for Location.

Dutch Hollow Cemetery - See Cemeteries of Chester, NY. in the Local History Room for Location.

Jonathan Stevens Cemetery - See Cemeteries of Chester, NY. in the Local History Room for Location.

McGinnisberg Cemetery - See Cemeteries of Chester, NY. in the Local History Room for Location.

Rumsey Cemetery - See Cemeteries of Chester, NY. in the Local History Room for Location.

Jeremiah Stevens & Smith Cemetery - See Cemeteries of Chester, NY. in the Local History Room for Location.

Nicholas Demerest Cemetery - See Cemeteries of Chester, NY. in the Local History Room for Location.

Galloway Cemetery - See Cemeteries of Chester, NY. in the Local History Room for Location.

Rhodes Cemetery - See Cemeteries of Chester, NY. in the Local History Room for Location.

Dobbin Cemetery - See Cemeteries of Chester, NY. in the Local History Room for Location.

Indian Burial Ground - See Cemeteries of Chester, NY. in the Local History Room for Location.

Lost Cemetery - See Cemeteries of Chester, NY. in the Local History Room for Location.

 

Cemeteries of Town of Hamptonburgh 1980 by The Orange County Genealogical Society and the Hamptonburgh Presbyterian Church Historical Society (Sharts 974.7951 Ham) MAP

Hamptonburgh Cemetery - At the Southwest corner of Sarah Wells Trail and Route 51.

Neelytown Cemetery - On the West side of Neelytown Road North of Eager Road.

Eager Family Cemetery - On the East side of Neelytown Road North of Eager Road.

Tuthill Burial Ground - Loacted to the rear of the old Tuthill Homestead between Route 207 and Everett Road.

Brewster Cemetery - On Hamptonburgh Road Halfway between Sarah Wells Trail and Ridge Road on the Torpey Farm.

Lincolndale Cemetery - Located on a Hillside along Route 208 near Sarah Wells Trail.

Watkins Cemetery - Along Route 208 near Sarah Wells Trail.

Robert Oliver Thompson - Located high atop a hill on a slate ridge alongside Eberton Road in a lone gravesite.

Burial Ground Behind Girardin - Northwest of Maybrook Road, there are three stones buried in the ground without an inscription.

Holy Spirit Ukrainian Catholic Cemetery - Located on Sarah Wells Trail between Day Road and Arbor Road.

Silas Pierson Burial Ground - Located under a large white oak tree at the rear or property owned by Eitel on the Sarah Wells Trail.

Cemetery in Old Keller Excavation - At the corner of Route 208 and Briarbrook Lane.

 Cemetary Records: Lincolndale, Pine Hill, St. James Episcopal, Walkill Valley by Gertrude A. Barber (Sharts 974.795 Bar) MAP

Lincolndale Cemetery, Lincolndale, NY - Located about one half mile from the schoolhouse on the main road.

Circleville Cemetery, Circleville, NY - Adjoins the church.

Pine Hill Cemetery, Wawayanda, NY - Located in the town of Wawayanda on Route 6.

St. James Protestant Episcopal Cemetery, Goshen, NY - Located on South Street, opposite Green Street in Goshen.

Walkill Valley Cemetery, Walden, NY - Situtated about 1 mile from Walden, NY. on South Plank Road.

 

Cemetery of the Highlands Highland Mills, NY by Mrs. Emma Jones McWhorter and Mrs. Gertrude W. Gray (Sharts 974.7951 Hig)

      Cemetery of the Highlands - Located behind the Highland Mills Methodist Church on Route 32 in Highland Mills.

 

Cemeteries of the Town of Minisink 1988 by Edna D. Raymond (Sharts 974.7951 Min)  MAP

Millspaugh Cemetery - On the south side of county Route 22 between Millsburg Road and O'Brien Road 0.3 miles west of Millsburg Road.

Hallstead Cemetery - On the corner of County Route 22 and South Plank Road.

Rome Cemetery - On South Plank Road 0.8 miles south of Rome School Road.

Van Ness Cemetery - On South Plank Road across from the fork with Ridge Road on a hill.

Ridge Cemetery - At the corner of Ridge Road and County Route 1, on a hill beyond the horse exercise track.

Monell Cemetery - On Ridge Road 0.2 miles north of Waterloo Road, on a farm whose barn on the east side of the road is across from a house on the west side, 250 feet from the road on a fence line on the barn side of the road.

Wilcox Cemetery - On the east side of Wilcox Hollow Road 0.1 miles from the town of Minisink and the Town of Greenville line.

Clark Cemetery - On the west side of Pine Hill Road 0.2 miles form teh intersection with Country Route 36 and about 0.1 miles off Pine Hill Road.

Unionville Cemetery - On Jersey Avenue in Unionville 0.1 miles west of Route 284.

Minisink Cemetery - On Route 284, 0.3 miles north of Langlitz Road.

Westtown Presbyterian Church Cemetery - On Route 284, 0.2 miles north of County Route 1, on both sides in back of the Westtown Presbyterian Church.

Reeve Cemetery - On the west side of Route 284 less than 0.1 miles north of the intersection with Whitford Road in a field.

Hill Cemetery - On the west side of Route 284, 0.5 miles south of the intersection with County Route 62, back from the road on the side of a hill where a green highway marker with the number 284, 8301, and 1059 is beside the road.

Neely Cemetery - On the south side of Horton Road, 0.4 miles east of the intersection with Hosler Road, which does not intersecct with County Route 62.

Loree Cemetery - On the east side of Lower Road, 0.7 miles south of County Route 1 and 0.1 miles south of the intersection of Lower Road with Grusy Road.

 

The Churchyard Records of Goodwill Presbyterian Church by Rev. J.H. Thompson (Sharts 974.7951 Tho)

Churchyard of Goodwill Presbyterian Church - On Route 208 half ile off 17K, south of Scott's Corners in Mongomery, NY.

Montgomery Dutch Church 1734 - 1831 and Berea Cemetery by Glen Erikson (Sharts 974.7951 Mon)

Berea Cemetery - Located at the intersection of Berea Road and Coleman Road in Montgomery, NY.

 

Old Town Burying Ground Newburgh, NY 1898 by Historical Society of Newburgh Bay and the Highlands

Old Town Burying Ground - Located North of South Street between Grand Street and Liberty Street in Newburgh, NY.

 

Pine Hill Cemetery / Families by Bon Brennan (Sharts 974.7951 Pin)

Pine Hill Cemetery - Located on Van Burenville Road west of Route 17M in Walkill, NY.

Revolutionary War and Civil War Soldiers Buried in the Brick Reformed Church Cemeter Montgomery, NY by Virginia S. Moore

Brick (German) Reformed Church Cemetery - Located on Route 17K in Montgomery, NY.

 

Saint John's Cemetery Goshen, NY (Sharts 974.5)

St. John's Cemetery - On West Main Street Extension in Goshen.

 

Sloatsburg Cemetery Index of Burials by Gene Kuykendall (Sharts 974.301 Kuy)

Sloatsburg Cemetery - Located South of Eagle Valley Road, West of Route 17 Orange Turnpike.

 

 

 

   

Subject Guide