Library Home page | Library Catalog
Skip to main content

Wallkill Public Library Local History Collection: About

A collection of published materials related to the history of the Town of Shawangunk and its institutions.

About Our Archives

      The Wallkill Public Library Archives contains unique materials related to the Town of Shawangunk and the region surrounding the Hamlet of Wallkill. These items include an extensive collection of 19th century photographs of the Borden Home Farm, service records of local veterans and yearbooks published by the Wallkill Central School District. To preserve these historically important items for future generations, the archives are open by appointment only.

     To explore our archives, select one of the collections from the drop-down menu and download the PDF Finding Aid. If you wish to view a specific item in person, fill out our local history request form to make an appointment (please give at least 48 hours notice to accomodate staff) along with the item(s) you wish to view.

Images from our Collection

"View of the [New York Condensed Milk Company] Walden Branch, 1887".
Wallkill Public Library Archives and Local History Collection.

Access Policy

In order to accommodate for staff availability and prepare non-circulating items for use, the collection can be accessed after an appointment has been made at least 48 hours in advance; walk-ins are taken on a case basis. Users are asked to place bulky items; bags, back-packs etc. , underneath the reading table to prevent damage to materials. Pens, markers and other permanent writing devices are prohibited. However, number 2 pencils, notepads, laptops and tablets are allowed for note taking.  As per library policy, no food or beverages are permitted.