Magazines, Homework Help, Databases at Tappan Library: Arts & Literature
Free and licensed online databases and reference tools, including full-text magazine articles, provided by the Tappan Library.
Literature databases from the Library
- CliffsNotes This link opens in a new window
CliffsNotes is the original (and most widely imitated) study guide. CliffsNotes study guides are written by real teachers and professors, so no matter what you're studying, CliffsNotes can ease your homework headaches and help you score high on exams.
- ComicsPlus Full Library
Unlimited Access to thousands of digital comics, graphic novels, and manga from more than 100 publishers. All available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.
New registrants should enter "Ramapo Catskill" as the library name.
- ComicsPlus Kids CollectionUnlimited Access to thousands of digital comics, graphic novels, and manga from more than 100 publishers. All available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.
New registrants should enter "Ramapo Catskill" as the library name.
- LiteraryHistory.comLiteraryhistory.com is a free, public service web site for online literary criticism that has been continuously maintained and updated since 1998. It's a digital library of web sites, in which research material is directly available through links.
- NoveList Plus - Tappan
Allows readers to use a favorite author or title as a template to locate other authors and titles. 3 powerful search techniques to look for books by subject headings, reviews, and other fields in the title records. Includes non-fiction.
Funded by the RCLS Central Library (Newburgh Free Library).
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
Click on the image below for a tutorial on this database:
- NoveList K-8 Plus - Tappan
A reader's advisory service. Find youth fiction and non-fiction titles similar to authors or titles you already enjoy.
Funded by the RCLS Central Library (Newburgh Free Library).
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
- Poet's & Writers Literary Agents DatabaseThe Literary Agents list includes agents and literary agencies that represent poets, fiction writers, and creative nonfiction writers, plus details about the kind of books they're interested in representing, their clients, and the best way to contact them.
- Norton Anthology of English Literature: Topics OnlinePrepared by the Norton Anthology editors, this extensive, freely accessible Web resource for The Norton Anthology of English Literature offers twenty-seven topics for study and discussion.
- SparknotesSparkNotes study guides, classic books, and many other features are free to use online without establishing an account. If you wish to purchase a downloadable PDF, take SparkTests or post messages on the message boards, you will have to create a SparkNotes account.
Music
- Freegal - Tappan
Freegal Music is a free music service which offers download or streaming access to more than 11 million songs and 18,000 music videos, including Sony Music’s catalog of legendary artists. In total, the collection includes over 30,000 labels and is comprised of over 200 genres of music from over 80 countries. Freegal works with almost all computers, players, tablets, and smartphones. No special software is needed, free apps are available at the Apple App Store, Google Play and Amazon.com for the Kindle Fire.
Click on the image below for a tutorial on this database:
