Library Home page | Library Catalog
Skip to main content

Books Into Movies: Online Reference Sources

for Book and Movies...

Like some ideas on what to read? Try our NoveList and FictionConnection databases. These two resources can help you discover titles similar to books you already enjoy as well as find books by subject headings and reviews.

Interested in a little more Hollywood? These websites should come in handy.

Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Information about the Academy awards, a database of motion picture credits, history of the organization, past award winners, and more. A database of past winners and nominees (complete through 2006) is also available.

AllMovie Browse by title, genre, locate box office statistics or read an essay . Movie trailers, lists of new releases, and a glossary are also available.

American Film Institute Details about the organization and its work. Offers top 100 lists and information about jobs, education, and workshops.

British Film Institute Information about the BFI National Archive, statistics, in-depth features, a film and tv database, research guides, and more.

Disney Archives Three browsable categories: movies, characters, and villains. Results include a description and downloadable images. Movie news and reviews.

Film Reference A free online encyclopedia offering information about movies, actors, directors, and writers.

Film Site History, trivia, quotes, and resources about classic films.

Golden Globe Awards The official site of the Hollywood Foreign Press Association. Offers a video and photo gallery, lists nominees and winners, news, and more.

Internet Movie Database A database of movie information including actors, directors, writers, producers, filming locations and trivia, and provides links to reviews, show times, and fan sites on the web. Reviews for film, tv, and video. The unique scoring shows "the critical consensus at a glance by taking a weighted average of critic grades."

The Motion Picture and Television Photo Archive Search the "vault" by keyword, personality, event, photographer, and more. Thumbnail image results can be enlarged for viewing.

Motion Picture Association of America Information about film ratings, research and statistics, and top issues.

Moviefone Movie schedules, tickets and information about the movies.

Movie Quotes A database containing over one million movie quotes.

New York Times Movies This section includes review
s, trailers, articles, and a complete list of reviews from the New York Times dating back to 1929.

Rotten Tomatoes Scores movies and provides both positive and negative reviews. Also allows users to select a movie by genre, "tomatometer," and MPAA rating.