Visiting Tappan, New York: NY Historic Organizations
Area historical attractions.
Celebrate Local History
The 2013 John Scott Armchair Walking Tours
The Historical Society of The Nyacks and the Friends of the Nyacks announce the schedule for the 2013 fall season of the John Scott Armchair Walking Tours.
The October and second program in the series will be presented by Jerry Donnellan, A native of Nyack and a wounded Vietnam War Veteran, currently Rockland County Commissioner of Veterans Affairs and Curator at the Camp Shanks Museum in Orangeburg. The program is entitled "Camp Shanks: First Stop on the Road to Victory." Over 1.3 million GIs were processed at this “last stop USA,” on their way to Victory in Europe.
The program will presented first at the Nyack Library, 59 S. Broadway, at 7:00 PM on Wednesday evening, October 16 and will be repeated the following afternoon, Thursday, October 17 at 2:00 PM at the Valley Cottage Library on Route 303.
New York State
- New York HeritageResearch portal for students, educators, historians, genealogists, and others who are interested in New York State history. A collaborative project of the Reference and Research Library Resource Councils (NY3Rs).
- New York Historical SocietyA museum and independent library, the New York Historical Society includes collections of historical artifacts, art and other materials "documenting the history of the United States as seen through the prism of New York City and State."
- NYHistoryNetAn Internet directory of resources published by the Institute for New York State Studies, a for-profit venture.
- New York State FactsDesigned for children, this resource is useful for NYS facts and figures, as well as maps.
- New York State ArchivesLocated in Albany, the archives house more than 200 million documents "that tell the story of New York from the seventeenth century to the present." Search the repository directory for local collections, which may include town halls, college/universities, and other institutions.
- New York State LibraryA source for digital documents, digitized artifacts, government documents, and special exhibitions on New York history.
Rockland County
- Genealogical Society of Rockland CountyThe Genealogical Society of Rockland County was organized in 1985 by members of the Historians Roundtable of the Historical Society of Rockland County to encourage and promote accurate and thorough research of every region through educational programs and workshops and to discover, collect, preserve, record, and catalog Rockland County genealogical and historical data.
- Historical Society of the NyacksHistorical Society of the Nyacks where local history is alive with House Tours, John Scott Armchair Tours, interesting excursions and exhibits.
- Local History at the New City LibrarySally Pellegrini is the overseer of a special collection of local history materials called the Rockland Room. The collection contains more than 4,500 print materials, 15 drawers of vertical files, a large collection of local family names and genealogy, the Budke collection, online genealogy subscription services and maps.
- Piermont Historical SocietyThe mission of the Piermont Historical Society is to preserve and protect the integrity of Piermont's architecture, history and cultural heritage, and to celebrate the history of Piermont and the role Piermont played in the development of the American railroad in the 19th Century. Our goal is to foster and maintain awareness and appreciation of the history of Piermont.
- Rockland County ArchivesThe Rockland County Archives is a state-of-the-art records storage facility located in Building S in the Pomona Health Complex. Under the direction of the Rockland County Clerk, the Archives Unit is responsible for the maintenance and storage of active and inactive records generated by over 50 county departments, as well as many historical records. For more information, review the Archives section of the website, or call (845) 364-3670.
- Rockland Historical SocietyThe Historical Society of Rockland County acquires, preserves, and exhibits objects, buildings and sites which reflect primarily the history of Rockland County and the Lower Hudson Valley, and researches, documents, promotes and publicizes the rich historical heritage of the county for the people of Rockland.
- Tappantown Historical SocietyThe Tappantown Historical Society is a non-profit organization founded in 1965 and chartered by the New York State Board of Regents to preserve, protect and enhance buildings and sites in Tappan's 85 acre historic area, and to perpetuate Tappan's heritage of architecture and history.
- The Orangetown Historical Museum & Archives At the DePew HouseThe Orangetown Historical Museum & Archives was founded in 1992 to acquire, preserve and exhibit objects which reflect the history of the Town of Orangetown. The Museum's additional mission is to document, research, promote and publicize the rich historical heritage of the town for the people of Orangetown.
Westchester County
- Briarcliff Manor-Scarborough Historical SocietyThe mission of the Briarcliff Manor-Scarborough Historical Society is to research, document, collect and preserve the history of Briarcliff Manor and Scarborough, and by doing so to promote lasting interest in the history and traditions of this community.
- Westchester County ArchivesOpen to the public, this is the central repository for the historic public records of Westchester County, NY, dating from 1680 to the present. The collection contains indexes, finding aids, and collection guides, and staff members will assist you in your search.
- Westchester County on NY GenWebDesigned for geneologists, this resource pulls together both online and off-line county resources.
- Westchester County Virtual ArchivesCollaborative online exhibit from the Westchester County Historical Society and the Westchester County Archives.
- Westchester Historical Society"Westchester's largest collection of local history and genealogy, covers the county's development from the first Dutch settlers in Yonkers to corporate settlers on the White Plains corridor."
- Westchester State Parks & Historic SitesMap of sites from the NYS Office of Parks, Recreation and Historic Preservation.
- White Plains Library Local History CollectionIncludes books, pamphlets, maps, clippings and brochures of local historical interest.
Hudson Valley
- New York Heritage
HRVH provides access to historical materials from digital collections contributed by colleges, libraries, archives, historical societies, museums and cultural organizations from the following counties in New York State: Columbia, Greene, Dutchess, Ulster, Sullivan, Rockland, Orange, Putnam, and Westchester.
- Hudson River MuseumIn Yonkers, it is the oldest museum in Westchester. The museum collects 19th- and 20th-c. American art and cultural, social and historical material related to the Museum's historic Mansion and the wider Westchester County/Hudson River Valley region. Today, the museum also acts as a cultural center.