Library Home page | Library Catalog
Skip to main content

Online Reference Books: History

An online library of hundreds of magazines, newspapers, maps, charts, research and reference books that are available to Newburgh and RCLS patrons.

American Eras, 8v, 1997 (eBook)

American Eras

American Eras provides essays on events, publications, lifestyles and individuals important to particular eras in U.S. history, from Early American Civilizations and Exploration to 1600 (vol. 1) through the Development of the Industrial United States, 1878-1899 (vol. 8). 

For use in the library (no card necessary), or from home with a valid Newburgh library card number.

Cold War Reference Library, 6v, 2004 (eBook)

Cold War Reference Library

Cold War Reference Library covers the Cold War period between the Western powers and the Communist bloc from the end of World War II through 1989. Includes discussion of the historic causes of the tension and information on the lives and actions of major figures, such as Harry Truman, Winston Churchill, and Joseph Stalin.

 

For use in the library (no card necessary), or from home with a valid Newburgh library card number.

The Eighties in America , 3v, 2008 (eBook)

Eighties in America

Eighties in America covers events, movements, people, and trends in popular culture, literature, art, sports, science, technology, economics, and politics in both the United States and Canada. Every entry focuses on the topic or person during the 1980's - for this work, defined as January 1, 1980, through December 31, 1989 - in order to explore what made the decade unique.

For use in the library (no card necessary), or from home with a valid Newburgh library card number.

Encyclopedia of the Great Depression , 2v, 2004 (eBook)

Encyclopedia of the Great Depression

The Encyclopedia of the Great Depression is a 2-vol. set encompasses nearly two decades of American history, beginning with the farm crisis of the mid-1920s, through the 1929 stock market crash, the gradual recovery during the 1930s with Franklin D. Roosevelt's New Deal and World War II. This wide-ranging, multidisciplinary encyclopedia features entries on depression-era politics, government, business, economics, literature, the arts, society and culture.

For use in the library (no card necessary), or from home with a valid Newburgh library card number.

Gale Library of Daily Life: American Civil War , 2v, 2008 (eBook)

Gale Library of Daily Life :  American Civil War

Gale Library of Daily Life: American Civil War provides historical information on the battlefield and homefront experience and the political, economic, social, and cultural life of the North and South during the War. Primary source documents in the form of first-person accounts, letters, diaries, journals, newspapers, and literature bring to life the experiences of the Union and Confederate participants and the people they left behind.

For use in the library (no card necessary), or from home with a valid Newburgh library card number.

Gale Library of Daily Life: Slavery and America , 2v, 2008 (eBook)

Gale Library of Daily Life :  Slavery and America

Gale Library of Daily Life :  Slavery and America illuminates daily life in slave society in America from colonial times to the end of the Civil War. Provides information on the business and regulation of slavery, the plantation way of life, work, family and community, culture and leisure, health and medicine, religion, resistance and rebellion, and slavery and freedom in the North.

For use in the library (no card necessary), or from home with a valid Newburgh library card number.

Great Depression and the New Deal Reference Library , 4v, 2003 (eBook)

Great Depression and the New Deal Reference Library

Great Depression and the New Deal Reference Library covers the failure of the U.S. economy and its gradual recovery, with special attention to the New Deal, as well as the global situation, including the rise of Hitler. The Almanac covers the era in 16 subject chapters. Biographies profiles 29 major figures of the period. Primary Sources features annotated excerpts from speeches, newspaper and magazine articles, literature, and other documents from the period. For middle school and general audiences.

For use in the library (no card necessary), or from home with a valid Newburgh library card number.

The Industrial Revolution, 2009 (eBook)

The Industrial Revolution

The Industrial Revolution explores the evolution and effects of the Industrial Revolution and its transformation of Great Britain, the United States, and the rest of the world.

For use in the library (no card necessary), or from home with a valid Newburgh library card number.

The Middle Ages: An Encyclopedia for Students , 4v, 1996 (eBook)

The Middle Ages :  An Encyclopedia for Students

The Middle Ages:  An Encyclopedia for Students covers an array of topics on the Middle Ages including daily life, art and architecture, science, religion, politics, women's issues, and more.

For use in the library (no card necessary), or from home with a valid Newburgh library card number.

Roaring Twenties Reference Library , 2v, 2006 (eBook)

Roaring Twenties Reference Library

Roaring Twenties Reference Library chronicles and illustrates a time of great social change in everything from fashion to music to politics in the 1920s.

For use in the library (no card necessary), or from home with a valid Newburgh library card number.

The Sixties in America Reference Library , 4v, 2005 (eBook)

The Sixties in America Reference Library

The Sixties in America Reference Library presents a broad overview of the turbulent 1960s, a decade that forever changed the American social, political and cultural landscape.

For use in the library (no card necessary), or from home with a valid Newburgh library card number.

U.S. Immigration and Migration Reference Library , 6v, 2004 (eBook)

U.S. Immigration and Migration Reference Library

U.S. Immigration and Migration Reference Library chronicles and interpretations of the phenomenal waves of immigration to the United States from the earliest times through the period from 1820 to 1930, when the United States was the destination of some 60% of the world's immigrants -- up to the present day, when restrictive policies have temporarily stanched the flow of immigrants.

For use in the library (no card necessary), or from home with a valid Newburgh library card number.