Library Home page | Library Catalog
Skip to main content

Online Reference Books: Science & Technology

An online library of hundreds of magazines, newspapers, maps, charts, research and reference books that are available to Newburgh and RCLS patrons.

Alternatives to Energy, 3 vols., 2007 (eBook)

Alternative Energy is a three-volume set introduces students to issues surrounding both current energy sources and alternative energy.

For use in the library (no card necessary) or from home with a valid Newburgh library card number.


American Men & Women of Science, 24th ed., 8 vols., 2008 (eBook)

American Men & Women of Science: A Biographical Directory of Today's Leaders in Physical, Biological, and Related Sciences provides information on the significant players in the physical, biological and related sciences. Each edition includes biographical entries on approximately 120,000 living scientists, providing birthdate; birthplace; field of specialty; education; honorary degrees; current position; professional and career information; awards; memberships; research information; and addresses for each entrant where available. 

For use in the library (no card necessary), or from home with a valid Newburgh library card number.

Chemical Elements: From Carbon to Krypton, 3 vols., 2006 (eBook)

Chemical Elements: From Carbon to Krypton provides in-depth information on 112 known chemical elements. For younger and middle school students, but also appropriate for high school students.

For use in the library (no card necessary), or from home with a valid Newburgh library card number.


Complete Dictionary of Scientific Biography, 27 vols., 2008 (eBook)

Complete Dictionary of Scientific Biography provides information on the history of science through articles on the professional lives of scientists. All periods of science from classical antiquity to modern times are represented.

For use in the library (no card necessary), or from home with a valid Newburgh library card number.


Encyclopedia of the Solar System, 2nd ed., 2007 (eBook)

Use the Encyclopedia of the Solar System to Learn the origin and evolution of the solar system, historical discoveries, and details about planetary bodies and how they interact.

For use in the library (no card necessary), or from home with a valid Newburgh library card number.


Encyclopedia of Volcanoes, 2000 (eBook)

Encyclopedia of Volcanoes

Encyclopedia of Volcanoes addresses all aspects of volcanism, ranging from the generation of magma, its transport and migration, eruption, and formation of volcanic deposits. Also addresses volcanic hazards, their mitigation, the monitoring of volcanic activity, economic aspects, and analyzes several specific cultural aspects of volcanic activity, including the impact of volcanic activity on archaeology, literature, art, and film.

For use in the library (no card necessary), or from home with a valid Newburgh library card number.

Forensic Science, 3 vols., 2009 (eBook)

Forensic Science covers theories, techniques, and applications of the various forensic sciences. Includes specific types of investigations; both general and specific investigative techniques; specialized equipment; and types of evidence. Examines aspects of chemical and biological agents as well as specific types of injuries, diseases, and other medical conditions.

For use in the library (no card necessary), or from home with a valid Newburgh library card number.

The Gale Encyclopedia of Science, 4th ed., 6 vols., 2008 (eBook)

The Gale Encyclopedia of Science covers all major areas of science, engineering, technology, as well as mathematics and the medical and health sciences, while providing a comprehensive overview of current scientific knowledge and technology. Entries typically describe scientific concepts, provide overviews of scientific areas and, in some cases, define terms.

For use in the library (no card necessary), or from home with a valid Newburgh library card number.

Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia , 2nd ed., 17 vols, 2003 (eBook)

Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia

Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia is a completely revised and updated version of the original work published in Germany in 1960, this edition incorporates recent developments in the animal world as noted by prominent advisors and contributors from the scientific community. 

For use in the library (no card necessary), or from home with a valid Newburgh library card number.

Inventors and Inventions, 5 vols., 2008 (eBook)

Inventors and Inventions covers inventors of the past and present, including the creators of Kevlar, Coca Cola, eBay, and the Global Positioning System. Explores the early life of each inventor, their education and professional life, and their contributions to society. Surveys the history of technological advancements in fields such as agriculture, transportation, communication, entertainment, textiles, medicine, and others.

For use in the library (no card necessary), or from home with a valid Newburgh library card number.


Science in Dispute, 3 vols., 2002-2003 (eBook)

Link to: Vol. 1

Link to: Vol. 2

Link to: Vol. 3

Science in Dispute explores controversial topics in science and technology by featuring informative essays, both pro and con, on the major theories, ethical questions and commercial applications of science from all disciplines.

For use in the library (no card necessary), or from home with a valid Newburgh library card number.

The Solar System, 3 vols., 2010 (eBook)

The Solar System provides coverage of all major aspects of Earth's solar system, from major planets to their satellites, small bodies, interplanetary phenomena, and cosmological context.

For use in the library (no card necessary), or from home with a valid Newburgh library card number.

UXL Encyclopedia of Science, 2nd ed., 10 vols., 2002 (eBook)

UXL Encyclopedia of Science provides topics related to the physical, life, and earth sciences, as well as to math, psychology, engineering, technology, and the environment.

For use in the library (no card necessary), or from home with a valid Newburgh library card number.

U*X*L Encyclopedia of Weather and Natural Disasters, 5 vols., 2008 (eBook)

U*X*L Encyclopedia of Weather and Natural Disasters introduces students to the topic of weather and natural disasters, covering such topics as weather basics, weather phenomena, forecasting, and climate. Provides information on the scientific aspects of various types of disasters including: blizzards, earthquakes, flooding, tornadoes, volcanoes, and wildfires.

For use in the library (no card necessary), or from home with a valid Newburgh library card number.


Van Nostrand's Scientific Encyclopedia, 10th ed., 3 vols., 2008 (eBook)

Van Nostrand's Scientific Encyclopedia covers emerging technologies affecting genetics, global warming, communications, informatics and nanotechnology.

For use in the library (no card necessary), or from home with a valid Newburgh library card number.