Library Home page | Library Catalog
Skip to main content

Online Reference Books: Legal (Law)

An online library of hundreds of magazines, newspapers, maps, charts, research and reference books that are available to Newburgh and RCLS patrons.

Gale Encyclopedia of American Law, 3rd ed., 14 vols., 2011 (eBook)

Gale Encyclopedia of American Law covers today's leading cases, major statutes, legal terms and concepts, notable persons involved with the law, and important documents. Includes topics such as the Americans with Disabilities Act, capital punishment, domestic violence, gay and lesbian rights, physician-assisted suicide and more.

For use in the library (no card necessary), or from home with a valid Newburgh library card number.


West's Encyclopedia of American Law, 2nd ed., 13 vols., 2004 (eBook)

West's Encyclopedia of American Law provides current information on more than 5,000 legal topics. Includes completely revised articles covering important issues, biographies, definitions of legal terms and more. Covers such high-profile topics as the Americans with Disabilities Act, capital punishment, domestic violence, gay and lesbian rights, and physician-assisted suicide.

For use in the library (no card necessary), or from home with a valid Newburgh library card number.

Gale Encyclopedia of Everyday Law, 2nd ed., 2 vols., 2006 (eBook)

The Gale Encyclopedia of Everyday Law fills a much-needed gap between legal texts focusing on the theory and history behind the law and more practical guides dealing with the law and its everyday effect upon its citizens. Containing approximately 200 articles, the Encyclopedia includes: brief descriptions of each issue's historical background, covering important statutes and cases; profiles of various U.S. laws and regulations; and details of how laws and regulations vary from state to state.

For use in the library (no card necessary), or from home with a valid Newburgh library card number

Major Acts of Congress, 3 vols., 2004 (eBook)

Major Acts of Congress examines landmark pieces of legislation, explaining the historical factors that led to the proposal of each act, looking at the adoption process and assessing each act's impact on American life. All aspects of legislation are covered, including the National Prohibition Act, the Civil Rights Act, the Family and Medical Leave Act, the Americans with Disabilities Act, the Fair Housing Act, the Freedom of Information Act and much more.

For use in the library (no card necessary), or from home with a valid Newburgh library card number.