Library Home page | Library Catalog
Skip to main content

Online Reference Books: Health (Medical)

An online library of hundreds of magazines, newspapers, maps, charts, research and reference books that are available to Newburgh and RCLS patrons.

The Gale Encyclopedia of Cancer , 3rd ed., 2v, 2010 (eBook)

The Gale Encyclopedia of Cancer

The Gale Encyclopedia of Cancer - A comprehensive survey of 120 cancers, cancer drugs, traditional and alternative treatments, side effects and diagnostic procedures. 

For use in the library (no card necessary), or from home with a valid Newburgh library card number.

Human Diseases and Conditions , 2nd ed., 4v, 2010 (eBook)

Human Diseases and Conditions

Human Diseases and ConditionsPresents information on numerous diseases and conditions. Articles include a definition of the disease or condition, an explanation of how it works in the body, information on causes, symptoms and diagnosis, treatment or cure, and lifestyles.

For use in the library (no card necessary), or from home with a valid Newburgh library card number.

UXL Encyclopedia of Diseases and Disorders , 5v, 2009 (eBook)

UXL Encyclopedia of Diseases and DisordersContains numerous entries on medical conditions, from avian flu to warts. Entries cover infectious diseases, injuries, genetic disorders, and others.

For use in the library (no card necessary), or from home with a valid Newburgh library card number.

Encyclopedia of Public Health , 2008 (eBook)

Encyclopedia of Public Health

Encyclopedia of Public Health summarizes current knowledge in the field of public health. Includes public health research, practice and policy based on multidisciplinary activities, drawing from fields such as sociology, statistics, economics, psychology, social work, and clinical medicine.

For use in the library (no card necessary), or from home with a valid Newburgh library card number.

The Gale Encyclopedia of Diets: A Guide to Health and Nutrition , 2v, 2008 (eBook)

The Gale Encyclopedia of Diets :  A Guide to Health and Nutrition

The Gale Encyclopedia of Diets:  A Guide to Health and Nutrition - Covers topics such as dieting and popular diets, dietary concerns, nutritional basics, and the effects of a person's dietary choices on one's health. Topics are organized around the development and history of a diet, its basic principles, any key figures that influence the trend, and any public or regulatory concerns associated with the practice. Provides information across all age groups from infants to the elderly.

For use in the library (no card necessary), or from home with a valid Newburgh library card number.

The Gale Encyclopedia of Surgery and Medical Tests , 2nd ed., 4v, 2009 (eBook)

The Gale Encyclopedia of Surgery and Medical Tests

The Gale Encyclopedia of Surgery and Medical TestsProvides coverage of numerous surgical procedures, medical tests and related topics, such as anesthetics, common lab test and procedures, medications and postoperative care. Entries for medical test and surgical include definition; purpose; demographic information; diagnosis/preparation; aftercare; risks; morbidity and mortality rates; alternatives; and more.

For use in the library (no card necessary), or from home with a valid Newburgh library card number.

The Comparative Guide to American Hospitals, 2nd ed., 4v, 2007 (eBook)

The Comparative Guide to American Hospitals

The Comparative Guide to American Hospitals provides a snapshot profile of each of the nation's hospitals. Compares the nation's hospitals by 24 measures of quality in the treatment of heart attack, heart failure, pneumonia, surgical procedures and pregnancy care.

For use in the library (no card necessary), or from home with a valid Newburgh library card number.

The Gale Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine , 3rd ed., 4v, 2009 (eBook)

The Gale Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine

The Gale Encyclopedia of Alternative MedicineCovers all aspects of the subject including therapies, conditions/diseases, herbs/plants, and people. Identifies numerous types of alternative medicine being practiced today, including reflexology, acupressure, acupuncture, chelation therapy, kinesiology, yoga, chiropractic, Feldenkrais, polarity therapy, detoxification, naturopathy, Chinese medicine, biofeedback, Ayurveda and osteopathy.

For use in the library (no card necessary), or from home with a valid Newburgh library card number.

The Gale Encyclopedia of Mental Health , 2nd ed., 2v, 2008 (eBook)

The Gale Encyclopedia of Mental Health

The Gale Encyclopedia of Mental Health - Provides detailed information on mental disorders and conditions. Also features entries for prescription, alternative and over-the-counter drugs, as well as the various therapies used to treat mental disorders.

 For use in the library (no card necessary), or from home with a valid Newburgh library card number.

Infectious Diseases: In Context , 2v, 2008 (eBook)

Infectious Diseases :  In Context

Infectious Diseases:  In Context - Covers the history, politics, and ethical debate related to infectious diseases. Includes articles on how such diseases impact trade and commerce, travel, and the future of industrialized and impoverished nations.

 For use in the library (no card necessary), or from home with a valid Newburgh library card number.